Deeds.com
Recorder Offices in Howell County

Howell County Recorder of Deeds
1 Courthouse Square, West Plains, Missouri 65775
8:30 to 4:30 M-F
Phone: (417) 256-3750
Howell County Recorder of Deeds  1 Courthouse Square,  West Plains, Missouri,  65775

 
 
 
Deeds.com is providing this information as a courtesy to our visitors. You are NOT on the Howell County official website, you are on Deeds.com, a private website that is not affiliated with any government agency.
Howell County Recorder of Deeds
Howell County Recorder Information
The recorder in Howell County is responsible for recording and maintaining records related to real property situated in the County or Independent City.
Recording Fees
Real Estate: $24 for the first page, $3 for each additional page per document

Non-standard fee, if applicable: $25

Copies: $2 first page, $1 add. Pages

Certification: $1 per document
Document Formatting Requirements
PAPER AND INK
• 8 ½" x 11" white, light-colored, 20# paper without watermarks or logos
• Printed in black or dark ink on one side only
• No continuous forms or permanent binding, but documents may be stapled for presentation
• Minimum 8-point type. (Note: Nonessential information within any margin is exempt from this requirement.)
• Signatures must be in black or dark ink to insure reproduction from record and must have the name typed, stamped or printed underneath.
• Attachments to a page may not be stapled or taped other than a securely attached bar-coded label or than as required by law. (Note: ‘Attachment’ does not refer to an Exhibit, but additions to a document page.)

MARGINS
• Top 3" vertical space of the first page only of each document is designated for the Recorder’s certification. All Recorder’s certificates will be placed in this area.
• All other margins on the first and subsequent pages will be a minimum of ¾"
• Nonessential information contained with the margins does not have to comply with the 8-point requirement, but it should be noted that the Recorder is not liable or responsible for insuring that nonessential information is archived. Examples: page numbers, form numbers, return addresses, etc.

FIRST PAGE DESIGNATIONS
Every document (except plats and surveys) containing any of the following items shall have such information on the first page of the document below the 3" margin:
1. Title of the document
2. Date of the document
3. All grantors’ names
4. All grantees’ names
5. Any statutory addresses
6. Legal Description
7. Reference book and pages if required
If there is not sufficient room on the first page, the page reference within the document where the information is set out shall be stated on the first page. If one of the required fields begins on the first page and continues uninterrupted to subsequent pages, that meets the first page requirement.

Designations:
• Grantors and grantees must be designated in order to be indexed. There is no limit as to combinations or exclusions, but must include the words ‘grantor’ or ‘grantee’. Note: It is the filer’s or preparer’s responsibility to make the designations.
• Statutory addresses must be designated, i.e. ‘Grantee’s Mailing Address’...
• The address of the property shall not be accepted as a legal description.
• Book and page references required on certain documents, i.e. release deeds, assignments, etc. must be designated.

COVER PAGE
• A cover page for the document is not required, but a filer may choose to present a cover page and it will recorded as the first page of the document.
• The cover page must have the top 3" margin and include first page designations.
• If a document is presented for re-recording, in addition to all other requirements, there must be a new first page or cover sheet with the top 3" and the required first page designations.

CERTIFICATE OF VALUE
• All documents that transfer real estate ownership must be accompanied by a Certificate of Value form at the time of recordation.
• The Certificate of Value form must be filled out by the buyer or their agent.
• The full consideration paid (Total sales price) must be listed on the form.
• The penalty for failure to file a Certificate of Value form is $500 or 1% of the selling price, whichever is greater.
 
E-Recording
We may be able to e-record your deed documents in Howell County, Click Here for more information.
Forms
Howell County Real Estate Deed Forms

Quit Claim Deed Form
Warranty Deed Form
Special Warranty Deed Form
Grant Deed Form
Easement Deed Form
Beneficiary Deed Form
Revocation of Beneficiary Deed Form
Affidavit as to Death of Grantor Form
Affidavit of Deceased Joint Tenant Form
Correction Deed Form
Supplemental Documents
No supplemental documents at this time.
 
 
 
Information
No current information available for Howell County
 
 
NOTICE: You are NOT on the Howell County official website, you are on Deeds.com, a private website that is not affiliated with any government agency.