Deeds.com
Recorder Offices in Deschutes County

Deschutes County Clerk
1300 NW Wall St., Suite 202, Bend, Oregon 97701
8:00am-5:00pm Monday through Friday
Phone: (541) 388-6549
Deschutes County Clerk     1300 NW Wall St., Suite 202,  Bend, Oregon,  97701

 
 
 
Deeds.com is providing this information as a courtesy to our visitors. You are NOT on the Deschutes County official website, you are on Deeds.com, a private website that is not affiliated with any government agency.
Deschutes County Recorder of Deeds
Deschutes County Recorder Information
The recorder in Deschutes County is responsible for recording and maintaining records related to real property situated in the County.
Recording Fees
To record a deed or mortgage, the fee is $48 for the first page and $5 for each additional page.

A document describing two or more transactions between the same parties and involving the same properties, recordable as separate documents, may be recorded when the document is labeled with the names of the transaction described therein. A $5 fee will be charged for recording each additional transaction.

A document making reference to more than one assignment, release, or satisfaction will be $5 for each additional reference.

A nonstandard fee of $20 will apply to documents that do not meet the requirements. This is in addition to regular fees.

A Certified Copy is $7.75 + $0.25 for each additional page.

Contact the recording department of the clerk's office at (541) 388-6549 if you have questions about recording fees.
Document Formatting Requirements
Real property documents such as a special warranty deed, easement, or quit claim deed pertaining to real property located in Deschutes County, Oregon can be recorded with the Clerk and Recorder. Oregon has a race-notice recording statute, which means that a later buyer who pays fair value and does not have notice of any other earlier conflicting interests, and records first, wins and will have priority over any later recordings.

FIRST PAGE REQUIREMENTS

If the required information is not on the first page, an additional fee of $20 will be charged. A cover sheet may be used when presenting a document for recording. The cover sheet will be charged as an additional page.

• A 4 ¼ x 1 ¾ inch space should be provided in the upper right or lower right corner.

• The name of the transaction should be clearly labeled. A document describing two or more transactions between the same parties and involving the same properties, recordable as separate documents, may be recorded when the document is labeled with the names of the transaction described therein.

• Names of all the parties (grantors and grantees) are to be listed.

• For instruments assigning a mortgage or trust deed, the name and address of the assignee must be listed.

• Provide the name and address of the person to whom the document will be returned.

• Provide the name and address where tax statements will be sent. This is required on documents conveying or contracting to convey fee title. The statement should be in substantially the following form: “Until a change is requested, all tax statements shall be sent to the following address.”

• The true and actual consideration paid should be listed. This is required on documents conveying or contracting to convey fee title. If the actual consideration consists of or includes other property or other value given or promised, neither the monetary value nor a description of the other property or value need be stated so long as it is noted on the face of the instrument that other property or value was either part or the whole consideration. If the statement of consideration is in the body of the instrument preceding the signatures, execution of the instrument shall constitute a certification of the truth of the statement by the person signing. A particular form is not required for the statement so long as the requirements are reasonably met.

• For instruments in the county clerk lien records, provide the lien amount.

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS

• Original signatures are needed to record the instrument.

• A legal description of the real property being conveyed is required. A legal description is not a tax lot number or address. Acceptable legal descriptions are: a subdivision name with lot and block, a metes and bounds description, a partition plat recording and parcel number, or a reference to a book and page of any previously recorded Deschutes County public record.

• The weight of the paper must not be less than 20 pound opaque paper.

• The paper must not be larger than 8.5 x 14 inches. Margins should be at least 1 inch. 8 x 11 inch paper can also be used.

• All printed text in the document must be 8 point or larger.

• A mandatory statement should be included for sales agreements, earnest money receipts or other instruments for conveyance of fee title to real property. Oregon Revised Statute 93.040 lists this statement in full, which should appear on any instrument transferring or contracting to transfer fee title to real property.

RE-RECORDED DOCUMENTS

Any previously recorded document can be re-recorded to make corrections to the original document. The corrected document does not need to be acknowledged again.
The following statement shall be on the first page of the re-recorded document or on a first page attached to the document: “Re-recorded at the request of ___________ to correct __________ previously recorded in Book ___________ and Page __________ and/or fee number _______.”

The original document should be submitted with corrections and with the above statement. If the original document cannot be submitted, a certified copy of the instrument should be requested. Next, the unaltered certified copy should be recorded, along with a cover page which clearly indicates the changes or corrections. Additional pages may be attached to the unaltered certified copy.

Warranty deeds may be in the following form:
_____, Grantor, conveys and warrants to_____, Grantee, the following described real property free of encumbrances except as specifically set forth herein: (Describe the property conveyed.)

(If there are to be exceptions to the covenants described in ORS 93.850 (2)(c), here insert such exceptions.)
(Following statement of exceptions, here insert statement required under ORS 93.040 (1).)
The true consideration for this conveyance is $_____. (Here comply with the requirements of ORS 93.030.)
Dated this _____ day of_____, 2___.
 
E-Recording
We may be able to e-record your deed documents in Deschutes County, Click Here for more information.
Forms
Deschutes County Real Estate Deed Forms

Quit Claim Deed Form
Warranty Deed Form
Special Warranty Deed Form
Bargain and Sale Deed Form
Easement Deed Form
Transfer on Death Deed Form
Transfer on Death Revocation Form
Transfer on Death Affidavit of Survivorship Form
Affidavit of Surviving Joint Tenant Form
Correction Deed Form
Disclaimer of Interest Form
Supplemental Documents

Consideration
 
 
 
 
 
NOTICE: You are NOT on the Deschutes County official website, you are on Deeds.com, a private website that is not affiliated with any government agency.