Deeds.com
Home > Recorder Information > Oregon > Klamath County  
Recorder Offices in Klamath County

Klamath County Clerk
305 Main St., Klamath Falls, Oregon 97601
8:00am to 4:00pm.M-F
Phone: (541) 883-5134
Klamath County Clerk  305 Main St.,  Klamath Falls, Oregon, 97601

 
 
 
Deeds.com is providing this information as a courtesy to our visitors. You are NOT on the Klamath County official website, you are on Deeds.com, a private website that is not affiliated with any government agency.
Klamath County Oregon Register of Deeds
Klamath County Recorder Information
The recorder in Klamath County is responsible for recording and maintaining records related to real property situated in the County.
 
Recording Fees
To record a deed or mortgage, the fee is $37 for the first page. Each additional page is $5.

Documents with multiple transactions will be $5 per additional transaction.

For instruments that do not meet the requirements, a $20 non-standard form fee will apply to the fees. This is in addition to regular recording charges.

All fees must be paid in advance. A self-addressed stamped envelope is required for the return of documents.

Contact the Klamath County Clerk at (541)883-5134 for questions about recording or recording fees.
 
Document Formatting Requirements
The County Clerk’s Office records documents that affect title to real property located in Klamath County, Oregon. When a document is received for recording, it is checked for compliance with Oregon statutes. If it cannot be recorded, it is returned to the sender with an explanation. The county clerk's office will not give legal advice, give advice on which forms to use, help fill out instruments, or provide notary services. Instruments are returned within 10 days of recording.

An unrecorded instrument affecting title is void to subsequent purchaser: Every conveyance affecting the title of real property within this state which is not recorded as provided by law is void as against any subsequent purchaser in good faith and for a valuable consideration of the same real property, or any portion thereof, whose conveyance is first filed for record, and as against the heirs and assigns of such subsequent purchaser.

A document must be labeled in sufficient detail to enable the clerk to record it in the appropriate record.

REQUIREMENTS FOR RECORDING

• Paper should not be less than 20 # opaque bond and should be of sufficient quality for photographic reproduction that will not permit “bleed through.”

• Originals with original signatures and notary stamps are required. No photocopies (unless it is a certified copy) or electronically generated (faxed) copies are permitted. Notary stamps or seals may not cover any printed information or signatures. A blurred or faint notary stamp is not acceptable for recording. The information may be written outside the seal border or a new seal and/or acknowledgment can be affixed.

• Documents must be written in English.

• Any highlighting of text or information on the document will result in rejection.

• Paper should be at least 8.5 x 11 inches but not larger than 8.5 x 14 inches.

• Margins should be as follows: 2-inch top margins on the first page and 1 ½ inch side and bottom margins on the first page. All other margins should be a minimum of 1 inch. Sufficient space (a 4 x 2 inch space) must be provided for the recording label on the first page in the top right corner. If this space is not provided, an extra page will be charged.

• Type size must be 8 point or larger.

• Exhibits or attachments are to be referenced in the document.

• The legal description can be in the document or included as an attachment. An acceptable legal description is a subdivision name with lot and block, a metes and bounds description, or a partition plat recording and parcel number with section, township, and range. The assessor’s map and tax lot number or account number is not acceptable as a legal description.

• A statement outlined in ORS 93.040 is required on all deeds.


First page requirements:

1. The name(s) of the transaction(s). A document must be clearly labeled in sufficient detail to enable the clerk to record it in the appropriate record. A document describing two or more transactions between the same two parties and involving the same properties recordable as separate documents, may be recorded when the names of the transactions are clearly labeled.

2. Names of the parties. The names of all parties to the conveyance must be listed on the first page. Documents with multiple titles must have the names of the parties clearly listed on the first page or cover sheet.

3. Names and addresses of parties. Instruments submitted for recording must contain the names and addresses of all indexed parties (direct/grantor and indirect/grantee). This requirement includes the name and address of the beneficiary on applicable loan instruments.

4. Return address. Provide the name and address of the person to whom the document will be returned. A self-addressed stamped envelope is required for the return of documents.

5. Consideration. The true and actual consideration paid or to be paid. This is required on documents conveying or contracting to convey fee title.

6. Tax statements. The name and address of the person to whom the tax statements will be sent.

7. County Clerk Lien Records. When applicable, lien amount must also be listed on the first page.

8. Klamath County Assessor’s account number. This includes the map and tax lot.

9. Klamath County property address for the real property.

The first page is to contain the above information. If the information is not on the first page, an additional $20 will be charged. If a cover sheet is used, it will be considered part of the document when recorded. Any errors in the cover sheet do not affect the transactions contained in the instrument itself. The cover sheet does not need to be separately signed or acknowledged.

If a document is rejected as “illegible” due to a notary and/or corporate seal or highlighting that covers text, re-do the document or if you think the illegible section on the document is either unimportant or unnecessary, it can be removed or crossed out; however, be sure to check with legal counsel prior to doing so. The information may be necessary to the document.

If a form contains illegible text, a legible form of the same kind may be attached to the original and should state “attached for legibility” somewhere on the attached page. Attaching extra pages will increase the recording costs.

Warranty deeds may be in the following form:
_____, Grantor, conveys and warrants to_____, Grantee, the following described real property free of encumbrances except as specifically set forth herein: (Describe the property conveyed.)

(If there are to be exceptions to the covenants described in ORS 93.850 (2)(c), here insert such exceptions.)
(Following statement of exceptions, here insert statement required under ORS 93.040 (1).)
The true consideration for this conveyance is $_____. (Here comply with the requirements of ORS 93.030.)
Dated this _____ day of_____, 2___.
 
 
E-Recording
We may be able to e-record your deed documents in Klamath County, Click Here for more information.
 
Supplemental Documents

Consideration