Home > History > Arizona  

Arizona Deed History

The United States took control of most of Arizona in 1848 after the Mexican-American War. On February 14, 1912, Arizona became the 48th state to join the Union. The four original counties in Arizona, created by the 1st Arizona Territorial Legislative Assembly in 1864, are Mohave, Pima, Yavapai, and Yuma Counties.

The most populous county in the state, Maricopa County, was created in 1871. Upon its creation, Governor Safford appointed James L. Mercer as the first county recorder in the newly formed county. The first deed was recorded in Maricopa in June of 1871.