Home > History > Connecticut  

Connecticut Deed History

Connecticut is the fifth of the original 13 colonies; it was granted statehood on January 9, 1788. Before Connecticut was a state it was an English Colony called the Colony of Connecticut. While still a colony, founders in Connecticut established what is known as the first constitution in America, the Fundamental Orders.

In the Connecticut Colony, the first recorder is believed to have been Thomas Welles, who is the only man in the history of the state to have held all four top offices: governor, deputy governor, treasurer, and secretary.

There are 8 counties in Connecticut and 169 towns. Counties are used primarily for geographical and statistical purposes, as there is no county government in this state. Towns and cities in Connecticut are the next governing unit after the state and therefore serve as the fundamental political jurisdictions. The most populous city is Bridgeport, which was first settled by English colonists in 1639. Bridgeport is also part of the Greater New York City Combined Statistical Area. The first English settlement in the state is believed to have been in the town of Windsor, in the county of Hartford, which first saw English settlers in 1633. The first town clerk of Windsor was Dr. Bray Rossiter, who moved to Guilford, England in 1651 and was replaced by Thomas Grant. Grant is credited with creating records for the Colony, particularly the births, deaths, and marriages entered into volumes 1 and 2 of the Colony Land Records.