Home > History > Iowa  

Iowa Deed History

In 1838, the U.S. government established the Iowa Territory. At this time, there were 22 counties in the state. In 1846, Iowa became the 29th state in the Union. Iowa was initially placed under control of the United States in 1803, as a result of the Louisiana Purchase.

Iowa has a total of 99 counties. The first two counties, Des Moines and Dubuque, were created in 1834 when Iowa was still part of the Michigan Territory. Together, the counties of Des Moines and Dubuque contained all of present-day Iowa when they were first formed in 1834. In Des Moines County, the first county recorder was Dr. William R. Ross, who was appointed in 1834. Ross also conducted an initial survey of the county before he was appointed recorder.

The first settlement in Iowa was in 1833, after the Black Hawk Purchase, which was a land acquisition made in what is now Iowa by the U.S. federal government after the U.S. victory in the Black Hawk war. Before this, American settlements in Iowa had been sparse. The end of the Black Hawk war and America’s victory in the war helped open Iowa to American settlers.