Home > History > Kansas  

Kansas Deed History

Most of present-day Kansas permanently became part of America after the Louisiana Purchase in 1803. In the 1820s, the U.S. government set aside the area of land that would become Kansas; this land was reserved for Indian territory and was closed to settlement by whites. The Territory of Kansas was created by the Kansas-Nebraska Act of 1854, which opened new lands for white settlement. In 1861, Kansas entered the Union as a free state, making it the 34th state to enter the Union.

There are 105 counties in Kansas, 36 of which were formed in 1855 as the first counties in the state. Some sources cite the number of original counties at 33. The first land claimed in Kansas by U.S. citizens after the passage of the Kansas-Nebraska Act was at Leavenworth in 1854, which was established as a trading post by the U.S. army to protect travelers. One of the first counties formed by the first territorial legislature in 1855 was Jackson County. The first election for county officers in Jackson was held on October 1, 1855. In that election, James Kuykendall was probate judge, register of deeds, county clerk, and prosecuting attorney.