Home > History > Missouri  

Missouri Deed History

The land that is present-day Missouri was acquired by the United States as part of the Louisiana Purchase in 1803. After the Louisiana Purchase, it became known as Missouri Territory. Part of the territory was admitted to the Union in 1821 as the 24th state.

There are 114 counties in Missouri, as well as the independent city of St. Louis. When the Missouri Territory was formed, five counties were formed out of the Territory. Most of the subsequent counties were created from the first five. In 1836, six more counties were added through the Platte Purchase, which was an acquisition of land that formed the northwest tip of the state. The original counties, formed in 1812, are Cape Girardeau County, New Madrid County, St. Charles County, St. Louis County, and Ste. Genevieve County. St. Louis County is the most populous county.

The county recorder for St. Louis in 1804 was appointed by territorial governor William Henry Harrison. Marie Philip Leduc was appointed clerk and recorder in the territorial years. In 1816, Archibald Gamble was appointed recorder of deeds for St. Louis County. He held the position for 18 years.