Home > History > Nebraska  

Nebraska Deed History

Nebraska became a state in 1867. It was the 37th state to join the Union. Near the end of the California Gold Rush in 1854, the U.S. Congress created the Territories of Kansas and Nebraska. The Nebraska Territory originally contained parts of the current state of Colorado, North Dakota, South Dakota, Wyoming, and Montana. Omaha was the territorial capital of the Nebraska Territory.

Nebraska has a total of 93 counties. There are nine original counties, which were formed in 1854. The first European-American settlement in the state was at Fontenelle’s Post in 1822. The Post was located in the current city of Bellevue in Sarpy County. The town of Bellevue was organized around the fur trading post in 1855, but the county of Sarpy was not officially organized until 1857. In the first county election in 1857, C.D. Keller was elected register of deeds. During the Homestead Act of 1862, many settlers came to Nebraska to claim free land granted by the federal government.