Home > History > Nevada  

Nevada Deed History

The United States gained control of Nevada in 1848 following the U.S. victory in the Mexican-American war. The area was incorporated as part of the Utah Territory in 1850. Nevada Territory was carved out of western Utah Territory in 1861, following the discovery of silver in 1859 at Comstock Lode. Finally, in 1864, Nevada became the 36th state to join the Union. It was the second of two states added during the American Civil War.

Nevada is comprised of 16 counties and Carson City, an independent city. The first nine counties were established in 1861 by a territorial legislation. One of the first American settlers in Nevada arrived in Eagle Valley in 1848 during the California Gold Rush. At this time, Nevada was still part of the Utah Territory. Carson County was the primary unit of local government for western Utah and Nevada Territories until the first nine counties were created by the Nevada Territorial Legislature. Stephen A. Kinsey was appointed as the Carson County recorder in 1856.