Home > History > New York  

New York Deed History

Dutch settlers came to the region in the 17th century, and in 1609, the region was claimed by Henry Hudson for the Dutch. Fort Nassau, near the present day capital of Albany, was settled in 1614. The British took over the colony in 1664, and it was known as the Province of New York until 1783. In 1777, the New York State Constitution was enacted. New York was the 11th state to ratify the U. S. Declaration of Independence in 1788.

There are 62 counties in the state of New York. The Province of New York was divided into 12 counties in 1683, after the British takeover of the Dutch colony of New Amsterdam. Two of the original 12 counties have been abolished. Albany is the oldest surviving European settlement from the original 13 colonies and the longest continually chartered city in America.

One of the early secretaries in Albany County in the Province of New York was Robert Livingston in 1683. It is likely that he recorded some of the early deeds in the county.