Home > History > Rhode Island  

Rhode Island Deed History

Rhode Island’s official name is The State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations. The state is the smallest in size in America. Rhode Island was the first of the original 13 colonies to declare independence from British rule, declaring its independence on May 4, 1776, two months before the other colonies. While under British control, the region was known as the Colony of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations.

There are only five counties in the state of Rhode Island; however, local government is provided by the eight cities and charter towns in the state. All the counties were formed prior to the U. S. Declaration of Independence. The earliest official county formation date is 1703, which is when the counties of Newport and Providence were created. The city of Providence was founded in 1636 by Roger Williams after he was banished from the Massachusetts Bay Colony, which makes it one of the oldest cities in America. Roger Williams

In the Rhode Island Colony Records in the Providence Plantation, many deeds were signed and recorded by Thomas Olney, who was most likely the town clerk. Olney was also one of the 13 founders of the Colony of Rhode Island.