Home > History > South Carolina  

South Carolina Deed History

Originally combined with North Carolina, the Province of South Carolina was one of the 13 colonies to declare independence from Britain. The state was the eighth to ratify the U. S. Constitution on Mary 23, 1788. The Carolinas separated into North and South Carolina in 1729.

There are 46 counties in South Carolina. The oldest city is Charleston, which was founded in 1670 as part of the Province of Carolina, and is also the county seat of Charleston County. The most populous county is Greeneville. The first counties emerged in South Carolina in 1682 and were mainly election districts. The first three counties in 1682 were Craven, Berkeley, and Colleton County. The counties were not full-fledged governmental units until 1868when the state constitution added provisions for each county to elect a board of commissioners, clerk of court, coroner, probate judge, and sheriff.

In 1663, the Province of Carolina was given to eight different men—the Lord Proprietors. In 1729, the colony was split into North and South Carolina, thus creating the Province of South Carolina.