Home > History > Utah  

Utah Deed History

Utah was the 45th state admitted to the Union. It became a state on January 4, 1896. Before that, the Utah Territory was created in 1850 as part of the Compromise of 1850 and lasted until statehood.

There are 29 counties in the state of Utah. Seven of those counties are original counties that were formed in the State of Deseret in 1849. The State of Deseret was a provisional state proposed by Mormons from the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. The provisional state only lasted for two years and was never recognized by the U. S. government as a state. Upon statehood, three more counties were established. The most populous county is Salt Lake County.

Mormons from the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints came to the Salt Lake Valley region in 1847 and began the settlement of Salt Lake City. Before Mormon settlement, the area was home to Native American tribes. The county court system was created by the provisional government of the State of Deseret in 1850. Thomas Bullock was elected county recorder in Salt Lake County in 1852.