Home > History > Vermont  

Vermont Deed History

Much of the area that is now Vermont was originally claimed by the French during its early colonial period, and then France ceded the territory to Great Britain. In 1777, Vermont became an independent republic after a territorial dispute between a militia organization called the Green Mountain Boys and New York. Vermont is one of only four states to have been a sovereign state in its past (the others are Hawaii, Texas, and California). Vermont joined the United States as the 14th state in 1791, the first state after the 13 colonies.

Vermont has 14 counties, seven of which were formed before statehood. However, two of the counties, Bennington and Windham, were formed in 1779 under the Republic of Vermont and are counted as the two original counties. The most populous county is Chittenden.

Moses Robinson was chosen as town clerk in Bennington at the first town meeting in 1762. He served in that position until 1781. Real estate deeds in Vermont are recorded in the city or town where the property is located.