Home > History > Virginia  

Virginia Deed History

The official name of Virginia is the Commonwealth of Virginia. Virginia was one of the original 13 colonies in the American Revolution. The Colony of Virginia was established in 1607 as the first permanent New World English Colony, but in June of 1625 the Virginia Company of London could no longer finance the colony and it became a royal colony instead. On June 25, 1788, Virginia approved the constitution and became the tenth state to join the Union.

Virginia is divided into 95 counties and 39 independent cities. Independent cities are equivalent to counties. There are eight original counties, which were formed in 1663 in the Colony of Virginia and were called shires at the time of their formation. However, the eight shires were officially created in 1634 by the General Assembly, mostly for purposes of government. Virginia Beach, an independent city, is the most populous in the state.

The Jamestown settlement in the Colony of Virginia was sponsored by the Virginia Land Company of London. The early settlers in the region were granted 50 acres of land. The early records of James City County were either lost or destroyed during the Civil War. Gabriel Archer was on the council at Jamestown and also served as the first secretary of the colony in 1607, and then in 1609 he served as the council’s recorder.