Home > History > West Virginia  

West Virginia Deed History

West Virginia broke away from Virginia during the Civil War and became its own state on June 20, 1863. It is the only state that formed by seceding from a Confederate State. From 1607 until 1776, West Virginia was part of the Colony of Virginia, and from 1776 until 1863, it was part of the State of Virginia.

West Virginia has 55 counties. At the time of the Wheeling Convention in 1851, which helped to form West Virginia, there were 50 counties. Hampshire County, established in 1754 by the Virginia General Assembly, is the oldest county. The most populous county, Kanawha, was established in 1789. The first deed in Hampshire County was recorded in 1755, most likely by Archibald Wager.