Kent County Contractor Certification of Payment Form (Delaware)

All Kent County specific forms and documents listed below are included in your immediate download package:

Contractor Certification of Payment Form

Kent County Contractor Certification of Payment Form

Fill in the blank Contractor Certification of Payment form formatted to comply with all Delaware recording and content requirements.
Included Kent County compliant document last validated/updated 4/5/2024

Contractor Certification of Payment Guide

Kent County Contractor Certification of Payment Guide

Line by line guide explaining every blank on the form.
Included Kent County compliant document last validated/updated 4/9/2024

Completed Example of the Contractor Certification of Payment Document

Kent County Completed Example of the Contractor Certification of Payment Document

Example of a properly completed form for reference.
Included Kent County compliant document last validated/updated 5/7/2024

When using these Contractor Certification of Payment forms, the subject real estate must be physically located in Kent County. The executed documents should then be recorded in the following office:

Kent County Recorder of Deeds

555 Bay Rd, Dover, Delaware 19901

Hours: Office Hours: 8:00am - 5:00pm Mon-Fri., Recording Hours: 8:00am - 3:00 Mon.-Fri.

Phone: 302-744-2314

Local jurisdictions located in Kent County include:

  • Camden Wyoming
  • Cheswold
  • Clayton
  • Dover
  • Dover Afb
  • Felton
  • Frederica
  • Harrington
  • Hartly
  • Houston
  • Kenton
  • Little Creek
  • Magnolia
  • Marydel
  • Smyrna
  • Viola
  • Woodside

How long does it take to get my forms?

Forms are available immediately after submitting payment.

How do I get my forms, are they emailed?

Immediately after you submit payment, the Kent County forms you order will be available for download directly from your account. You can then download the forms to your computer. If you do not already have an account, one will be created for you as part of the order process, and your login details will be provided to you. If you encounter any issues accessing your forms, please reach out to our support team for assistance. Forms are NOT emailed to you.

What does "validated/updated" mean?

This indicates the most recent date when at least one of the following occurred:

  • Updated: The document was updated or changed to remain compliant.
  • Validated: The document was examined by an attorney or staff, or it was successfully recorded in Kent County using our eRecording service.
Are these forms guaranteed to be recordable in Kent County?

Yes. Our form blanks are guaranteed to meet or exceed all formatting requirements set forth by Kent County including margin requirements, content requirements, font and font size requirements.

Can the Contractor Certification of Payment forms be re-used?

Yes. You can re-use the forms for your personal use. For example, if you have more than one property in Kent County that you need to transfer you would only need to order our forms once for all of your properties in Kent County.

What are supplemental forms?

Often when a deed is recorded, additional documents are required by Delaware or Kent County. These could be tax related, informational, or even as simple as a coversheet. Supplemental forms are provided for free with your order where available.

What type of files are the forms?

All of our Kent County Contractor Certification of Payment forms are PDFs. You will need to have or get Adobe Reader to use our forms. Adobe Reader is free software that most computers already have installed.

Do I need any special software to use these forms?

You will need to have Adobe Reader installed on your computer to use our forms. Adobe Reader is free software that most computers already have installed.

Do I have to enter all of my property information online?

No. The blank forms are downloaded to your computer and you fill them out there, at your convenience.

Can I save the completed form, email it to someone?

Yes, you can save your deed form at any point with your information in it. The forms can also be emailed, blank or complete, as attachments.

Are there any recurring fees involved?

No. Nothing to cancel, no memberships, no recurring fees.

Certifying Payment for Labor and Materials in Kent County, Delaware

Under 25 DEL. LAWS, C. 27, 2707, prior to or simultaneous with the receipt of any full or final payment by the contractor, the contractor must provide the owner with one of two documents:
1) A notarized, verified written certification that the contractor has paid in full for all labor performed and materials furnished to date; or
2) A written release of mechanics' liens signed by all persons who would otherwise be entitled, containing a notarized, verified certification signed by the contractor that all of the persons signing the release constitute all of the persons who would be entitled otherwise to file mechanics' liens claims.

Providing a statement certifying the other potential claimants are paid lets the owner know that they are not at risk for a lien against their property. The certification identifies the parties, the location of the work or improvement, relevant dates, and a confirmation of payment. The contractor might also add a list of subcontractors and suppliers, along with payment dates and amounts, as well as any other information necessary for the specific situation.

Deliver the completed document to the owner either in person or via USPS certified or registered mail with delivery confirmation. The certificate may also be filed with the local recording office if appropriate for the circumstances.

Note that failure of the contractor to provide the owner a written certification or a release of mechanics' liens at such time shall constitute sufficient cause for the immediate suspension, revocation or cancellation of the contractor's occupational and business licenses. Id.

Each case is unique, so contact an attorney with questions about certifying payments or any other issues related to mechanic's liens in Delaware.

Our Promise

The documents you receive here will meet, or exceed, the Kent County recording requirements for formatting. If there's an issue caused by our formatting, we'll make it right and refund your payment.

Save Time and Money

Get your Kent County Contractor Certification of Payment form done right the first time with Deeds.com Uniform Conveyancing Blanks. At Deeds.com, we understand that your time and money are valuable resources, and we don't want you to face a penalty fee or rejection imposed by a county recorder for submitting nonstandard documents. We constantly review and update our forms to meet rapidly changing state and county recording requirements for roughly 3,500 counties and local jurisdictions.

4.8 out of 5 - ( 4337 Reviews )

Daniel C.

May 30th, 2024

This is a wonderful service and your staff is very responsive through the chat. My one suggestion is that there be an added sentence to your instructions that sates that once you upload there is nothing more to do as in a "submit" or "Finished uploading" button. After uploading instinct says there is something to click to let you all know that we have finished with our uploads.

Reply from Staff

Your feedback is valuable to us and helps us improve. Thank you for sharing your thoughts!

Cody M.

May 28th, 2024

They respond fast, the process is simple, and it's obviously convenient. I'm not sure what else there is to say, other than it's I would say a reasonable fee to pay them to do it.

Reply from Staff

Thank you for your positive words! We’re thrilled to hear about your experience.

Sheri S.

May 25th, 2024

So happy to have found this site. It’s just what I was looking for.

Reply from Staff

We are grateful for your feedback and looking forward to serving you again. Thank you!

Janet R.

January 7th, 2019

Disappointed. Description of Lien discharge form does not indicate it is specific to Mechanic liens. I'm inexperienced with liens & should have contacted someone before I ordered.

Reply from Staff

Sorry to hear that, it does look like our product description was lacking clarity. We have updated the description to better reflect the documents. We have also canceled your order and refunded the payment. Hope you have a great day.

JUDITH-DIAN W.

June 28th, 2023

I didn't have any problem downloading and filling out the form on my computer and printing it yesterday. I didn't know what to put for "Source of Title". I called the county recording office; they didn't know either and said to leave it blank. I got the form notarized at my bank and took it in to the recording office. They checked it, accepted it, I paid a fee, and it's done. So easy. My children will appreciate that I've done this. Added note: You do have one typo on your form--you left out 'at'. It should read: "You should carefully read all information at the end of this form."

Reply from Staff

Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it. Have a great day!

Kristina R.

March 27th, 2020

Fast and friendly service. I will use Deeds.com again.

Reply from Staff

We appreciate your business and value your feedback. Thank you. Have a wonderful day!

Jack S.

March 5th, 2019

Excellent and timely responses. Do you offer an annual rate? Thank you.

Reply from Staff

Thanks again Jack. Unfortunately we do not offer any annual rates or subscriptions, sorry.

DAVID F.

September 16th, 2021

excellent experience with this product. Well worth the cost to save time running down forms

Reply from Staff

We appreciate your business and value your feedback. Thank you. Have a wonderful day!

nancy h.

April 10th, 2019

Once I figured out what I wanted it was great!

Reply from Staff

Thank you Nancy.

DENISE E.

February 25th, 2021

I just submitted a beneficiary deed and it was accepted immediate and then recorded the next day! I like that I receive email messages notifying me of the process. The process was super easy and seamless. It's saved me so much time that I did not have to drive to downtown Phoenix to have this document record it. I love Deeds.com.

Reply from Staff

Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it. Have a great day!

John S.

May 20th, 2023

Easy to use website and reasonably priced forms. I recommend it.

Reply from Staff

Thank you for the kind words John.

Celeste F.

November 24th, 2020

Great experience. No hassle. It kept me out of a government office.

Reply from Staff

Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it. Have a great day!

Jay B.

March 17th, 2021

I've never had a problem locating the records I need. I can't imagine what can be done to improve the service.

Reply from Staff

Thank you!

Nancy S.

July 6th, 2021

Terrific service, I found just what I needed, and priced reasonably. The decision to purchase a form instead of trying to create one of my own was easy to make. I will return to this service again.

Reply from Staff

Thank you!

John C.

February 26th, 2024

Ease and speed of recording are remarkable. This is especially true of deeds with problems: I often get feedback within minutes and can correct problems immediately and still complete the filing in the same day. I wish more counties accepted electronic filing! It would be helpful to list counties that do/do not accept electronic filing so I would not have to upload documents to find out my effort was fruitless.

Reply from Staff

We are grateful for your feedback and looking forward to serving you again. Thank you!