My Account Deeds.com Real Estate Deeds

Delaware Correction Deed

Use the correction deed to correct an error in a previously recorded deed of conveyance in Delaware.

Correcting an error in a recorded deed helps prevent problems that might arise when the current owner tries to sell the property. The best method for correction is to prepare and record a new document, a so-called correction deed. This document does not convey title; instead, it re-enacts and confirms the prior conveyance of the property.

Apart from supplying the correct information, the new deed must give the reason for correcting, and it must reference the prior deed by title, date, and recording number. The original grantor must sign again, thus confirming the property transfer to the same grantee. Generally, corrective deeds are used to address minor errors in a deed, such as typos, accidentally omitted suffixes or middle initials in names, and other minor omissions. When in doubt about the gravity of an error and whether a correction deed is the appropriate vehicle to address it, consult with a lawyer.

For certain changes, a correction deed may not be appropriate. Adding or removing a grantee, for example, or altering the manner in which title is held, or making material changes to the legal description, especially deleting a portion of the originally transferred property, may all require a new deed of conveyance, instead of a correction deed. When correcting the legal description, both grantor and grantee should sign the corrective instrument to avoid any doubt regarding the conveyed property.

Deeds.com Delaware Correction Deed Forms Have Been Updated as Recently as Tuesday January 19, 2021

4.8 out of 5 (2287 Reviews)

What others like you are saying:


James B. said: All required forms readily available at fair price. Easy to create account. Immediately acquired documents upon order.

Reply from Staff: We appreciate your business and value your feedback. Thank you. Have a wonderful day!


Debra C. said: Excellent service. Love the site.

Reply from Staff: Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it. Have a great day!


Debra M. said: Since the recorder's office is closed, due to Covid, this worked well to submit my Quit Claim Deed. I was a bit confused with the direction and download. But, I think I got her done! We'll see if I get recorded and confirmation is received. I may be back

Reply from Staff: Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it. Have a great day!


Bobby T. said: Great!! Helps me out

Reply from Staff: Thank you!


Joseph N. said: The site is easy to navigate and exceptional services. Unfortunately, they could find no information on a tract of land that I own, and they canceled the search and refunded my payment.

Reply from Staff: Sorry we were unable to help you find what you were looking for Joseph.


David C. said: Very fast service

Reply from Staff: Thank you!


Select County where the property is located.

Delaware Correction Deed Form