My Account Deeds.com Real Estate Deeds

Delaware Correction Deed

Use the correction deed to correct an error in a previously recorded deed of conveyance in Delaware.

Correcting an error in a recorded deed helps prevent problems that might arise when the current owner tries to sell the property. The best method for correction is to prepare and record a new document, a so-called correction deed. This document does not convey title; instead, it re-enacts and confirms the prior conveyance of the property.

Apart from supplying the correct information, the new deed must give the reason for correcting, and it must reference the prior deed by title, date, and recording number. The original grantor must sign again, thus confirming the property transfer to the same grantee. Generally, corrective deeds are used to address minor errors in a deed, such as typos, accidentally omitted suffixes or middle initials in names, and other minor omissions. When in doubt about the gravity of an error and whether a correction deed is the appropriate vehicle to address it, consult with a lawyer.

For certain changes, a correction deed may not be appropriate. Adding or removing a grantee, for example, or altering the manner in which title is held, or making material changes to the legal description, especially deleting a portion of the originally transferred property, may all require a new deed of conveyance, instead of a correction deed. When correcting the legal description, both grantor and grantee should sign the corrective instrument to avoid any doubt regarding the conveyed property.

Deeds.com Delaware Correction Deed Forms Have Been Updated as Recently as Thursday June 20, 2019

4.7 out of 5 (646 Reviews)

What others like you are saying:


Richard W. said: Very nice web site with available forms. Being out of state we appreciated instruction sheet details. Rick and Jean Weber, Chicago

Reply from Staff: We appreciate your business and value your feedback. Thank you. Have a wonderful day!


Evelia G. said: I love this guide. Thank you for having this available.

Reply from Staff: Thanks so much for your feedback Evelia, have a fantastic day!


James D. said: good product, but would prefer an editable document, such as word

Reply from Staff: Thanks for your feedback James.


Maryanne M. said: Excellent service and actually better than expected. Plus if the information is not available you refund my money immediately. I will use this service again and again. Thanks

Reply from Staff: Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it. Have a great day!


Rita M. said: I have not received the deed via email. That is what I was expecting. Let me know if I am incorrect in my thinking.

Reply from Staff: Thanks for reaching out. While we do send some email notifications, we do not email documents. All orders are available via your account. You can log into your account from the menu button at the top left of most pages on the website.


harriet l. said: Worked very smoothly and got the job done

Reply from Staff: Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it. Have a great day!


Select County where the property is located.

Delaware Correction Deed Form