My Account Deeds.com Real Estate Deeds

New Hampshire Correction Deed

Use the corrective deed to correct an error in a previously recorded deed of conveyance in New Hampshire.

Correcting an error in a recorded deed helps prevent problems that might arise when the current owner tries to sell the property. The best method for correction is to prepare and record a new document, a so-called corrective deed. This document does not convey title; instead, it confirms the prior conveyance of the property.

Apart from supplying the correct information, the new deed must state the reason for correcting and reference the prior deed by title, date, and recording number. It must be signed by the original grantor, confirming the earlier conveyance to the original grantee. Generally, corrective deeds are used to address minor errors in a deed, such as typos, accidentally omitted suffixes or middle initials in names, and other minor omissions. A defect in the acknowledgment might also be corrected with such a deed. When in doubt about the gravity of an error, consult with a lawyer.

For certain types of changes, a correction deed may not be appropriate. Adding or removing a grantee, for example, or changing the manner in which title is held, or making material changes to the legal description, especially deleting a portion of the originally transferred property, may all require a new deed of conveyance instead of a corrective deed. When correcting the legal description, both the grantor and the grantee should sign the corrective deed to avoid any doubt regarding the conveyed property.

Deeds.com New Hampshire Correction Deed Forms Have Been Updated as Recently as Wednesday January 6, 2021

4.8 out of 5 (2287 Reviews)

What others like you are saying:


Donna r. said: Downloads were easy but I am pretty lost in filling out. Thought be more instructions

Reply from Staff: Thank you for your feedback Donna. If you are not completely sure of what you are doing we highly recommend seeking the assistance of a legal professional familiar with your specific situation.


Roy W. said: It's fine

Reply from Staff: Thank you!


RICK M. said: great

Reply from Staff: Thank you!


Anita L. said: Found this site very easy to navigate and customer service very supportive and quickly answers any questions you have regarding forms. Best of all you can get the forms you need and only pay for those forms, not tied to some ongoing fee that you must cancel if you have no further need beyond forms you've already purchased.

Reply from Staff: We appreciate your business and value your feedback. Thank you. Have a wonderful day!


Allen O. said: The website was easy to use and the forms will guide me as our family sells interest in property to other family members in Central New York.

Reply from Staff: Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it. Have a great day!


juanita S. said: Easy to fill with explanations to accompany

Reply from Staff: Thank you Juanita, we really appreciate your feedback.


New Hampshire Correction Deed Form