Kent County Mechanics Lien Complaint Form (Maryland)

All Kent County specific forms and documents listed below are included in your immediate download package:

Mechanics Lien Complaint Form

Kent County Mechanics Lien Complaint Form

Fill in the blank Mechanics Lien Complaint form formatted to comply with all Maryland recording and content requirements.
Included Kent County compliant document last validated/updated 3/29/2024

Mechanics Lien Complaint Guide

Kent County Mechanics Lien Complaint Guide

Line by line guide explaining every blank on the form.
Included Kent County compliant document last validated/updated 3/29/2024

Completed Example of the Mechanics Lien Complaint Document

Kent County Completed Example of the Mechanics Lien Complaint Document

Example of a properly completed form for reference.
Included Kent County compliant document last validated/updated 3/27/2024

When using these Mechanics Lien Complaint forms, the subject real estate must be physically located in Kent County. The executed documents should then be recorded in the following office:

Kent County Circuit Court Clerk

103 North Cross St, Chestertown, Maryland 21620

Hours: 8:30 to 4:30 M-F

Phone: 410-778-7460 and 7415

Local jurisdictions located in Kent County include:

  • Betterton
  • Chestertown
  • Galena
  • Kennedyville
  • Massey
  • Millington
  • Rock Hall
  • Still Pond
  • Worton

How long does it take to get my forms?

Forms are available immediately after submitting payment.

How do I get my forms, are they emailed?

Immediately after you submit payment, the Kent County forms you order will be available for download directly from your account. You can then download the forms to your computer. If you do not already have an account, one will be created for you as part of the order process, and your login details will be provided to you. If you encounter any issues accessing your forms, please reach out to our support team for assistance. Forms are NOT emailed to you.

What does "validated/updated" mean?

This indicates the most recent date when at least one of the following occurred:

  • Updated: The document was updated or changed to remain compliant.
  • Validated: The document was examined by an attorney or staff, or it was successfully recorded in Kent County using our eRecording service.
Are these forms guaranteed to be recordable in Kent County?

Yes. Our form blanks are guaranteed to meet or exceed all formatting requirements set forth by Kent County including margin requirements, content requirements, font and font size requirements.

Can the Mechanics Lien Complaint forms be re-used?

Yes. You can re-use the forms for your personal use. For example, if you have more than one property in Kent County that you need to transfer you would only need to order our forms once for all of your properties in Kent County.

What are supplemental forms?

Often when a deed is recorded, additional documents are required by Maryland or Kent County. These could be tax related, informational, or even as simple as a coversheet. Supplemental forms are provided for free with your order where available.

What type of files are the forms?

All of our Kent County Mechanics Lien Complaint forms are PDFs. You will need to have or get Adobe Reader to use our forms. Adobe Reader is free software that most computers already have installed.

Do I need any special software to use these forms?

You will need to have Adobe Reader installed on your computer to use our forms. Adobe Reader is free software that most computers already have installed.

Do I have to enter all of my property information online?

No. The blank forms are downloaded to your computer and you fill them out there, at your convenience.

Can I save the completed form, email it to someone?

Yes, you can save your deed form at any point with your information in it. The forms can also be emailed, blank or complete, as attachments.

Are there any recurring fees involved?

No. Nothing to cancel, no memberships, no recurring fees.

Enforcing a Mechanic's Lien in Maryland with Judicial Proceedings

Once a lien is placed on a property, the lien is only good as long as it can be enforced. Enforcement on a mechanic's lien is accomplished by foreclosing on the lien through judicial proceedings. At this point, it is highly recommended to use an attorney in any action to enforce the lien.

The right to enforce any lien established expires at the end of one year from the day on which the petition to establish the lien was first filed. Md. Real Prop. Code section 9-109. During this time, the claimant may file a petition (a complaint) in the lien proceedings to enforce the lien or execute on any bond given to obtain a release of the land and building from the lien. Id. If such petition is filed within the one year period, the right to a lien or the lien, or any bond given to obtain a release of lien, shall remain in full force and effect until the conclusion of the enforcement proceedings and thereafter only in accordance with the decree entered in the case. Id.

The requirements for filing the lien complaint are governed under the Maryland Rules of Civil Procedure (MRCP). Therefore, best practices would involve using an attorney familiar with these rules in drafting the petition. You must use an attorney if you are not filing the Complaint yourself, as anyone signing on your behalf must be licensed to practice law in the State of Maryland. Even if you are not a licensed attorney, you will still be held to the standards of one and expected to know the applicable rules and statutes.

If you are filing on your own behalf, be careful that everything included in the complaint is accurate to the best of your knowledge. Do not exaggerate or pad any amounts. Attach documentation to show amounts due, work completed to date, and any cost overruns. Under the MRCP, you could be liable for damages or sanctioned by the court for any false or frivolous filing.

This article is provided for informational purposes only. If you have any questions about filing suit to enforce a lien in Maryland, please consult an attorney.

Our Promise

The documents you receive here will meet, or exceed, the Kent County recording requirements for formatting. If there's an issue caused by our formatting, we'll make it right and refund your payment.

Save Time and Money

Get your Kent County Mechanics Lien Complaint form done right the first time with Deeds.com Uniform Conveyancing Blanks. At Deeds.com, we understand that your time and money are valuable resources, and we don't want you to face a penalty fee or rejection imposed by a county recorder for submitting nonstandard documents. We constantly review and update our forms to meet rapidly changing state and county recording requirements for roughly 3,500 counties and local jurisdictions.

4.8 out of 5 - ( 4356 Reviews )

William T.

July 6th, 2024

Very informative and user friendly. Thank you.

Reply from Staff

Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience!

MARY LACEY M.

July 1st, 2024

The service provided by the staff at Deeds.com is consistently excellent with prompt replies and smooth recording transactions. I am grateful to have their service available as driving to downtown Phoenix to record documents is always a daunting prospect. Their assistance in recording our firm's documents has been 100% accurate and a pleasure.

Reply from Staff

Thank you for your positive words! We’re thrilled to hear about your experience.

Julie P.

June 30th, 2024

Quick & easy to use. Spoke a lawyer and saved hundreds by doing it myself.

Reply from Staff

Thank you for your feedback Julie, we appreciate you.

Judith D.

November 25th, 2022

If my availability does not coincide with your business hours it should not prevent me from uploading my documents and making payment. You should allow people to upload their documents at any time with the understanding that you will process them on your next business day.

Reply from Staff

Thank you!

Hal M.

September 23rd, 2022

Very good, and easy and fast to use.

Reply from Staff

Thank you!

Delia C.

November 18th, 2019

Your service is a life saver! I'm a paralegal and new to lien releases especially in Platte Co., MO. The clerk was not helpful and I so appreciate your service in accomplishing this very important task!!

Reply from Staff

We appreciate your business and value your feedback. Thank you. Have a wonderful day!

Duncan M.

January 24th, 2019

Forms are fine, but the inability to download a completed form is not. Nor is the ability to convert to another format. Everytime I went to download, the form erased. I didn't have a printer available, so everything I did was to waste.

Reply from Staff

Thank you for your feedback Duncan. The blank forms should be downloaded first and then completed on your computer.

Amy S.

March 7th, 2022

So convenient! I love this service. I highly recommend.

Reply from Staff

We appreciate your business and value your feedback. Thank you. Have a wonderful day!

Margaret S.

March 16th, 2020

Great experience, quick and easy, thank you!

Reply from Staff

Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it. Have a great day!

Linda M L.

September 7th, 2023

Easy to use, documents look good, but pretty expensive.

Reply from Staff

Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it. Have a great day!

MATUS C.

March 28th, 2021

Quick, easy way to get the forms I needed

Reply from Staff

Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it. Have a great day!

Janet B.

July 28th, 2020

Review: Very user friendly and that is very important to me. Quick, easy and clear instructions. I would highly recommend deeds.com for your online filing services.

Reply from Staff

Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it. Have a great day!

brian d.

May 26th, 2020

I am a Loan Officer and this website saves me a bunch of time. Love it!

Reply from Staff

We appreciate your business and value your feedback. Thank you. Have a wonderful day!

Samuel T.

June 26th, 2021


So far, so good. explanations provided for the forms and instructions on how I should proceed were clear as a bell, and it was nice to get immediate delivery of the forms. I'll be looking for other ways to take advantage of this site, for sure.

Reply from Staff

Thank you!

Gladys B.

January 23rd, 2019

Good and fast service. Thank you.

Reply from Staff

Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it. Have a great day!