My Account Deeds.com Real Estate Deeds

Montana Correction Deed

Use the correction deed to correct an error in a previously recorded deed of conveyance in Montana.

Correcting an error in a recorded deed helps prevent problems that might arise when the current owner tries to sell the property. The best method for correction is to prepare and record a new document, a so-called correction deed. This document does not convey title; instead, it confirms the prior conveyance of the property.

Apart from supplying the correct information, the new deed must state the reason for correcting, and it must reference the prior deed by title, date, and recording number. The original grantor must sign again, thus confirming the conveyance to the same grantee. Generally, corrective deeds are used to address minor errors in a deed, such as typos, accidentally omitted suffixes or middle initials in names, and other minor omissions. When in doubt about the gravity of an error, consult with a lawyer.

For certain changes, a correction deed may not be appropriate. Adding or removing a grantee, for example, or altering the manner in which title is held, or making material changes to the legal description, especially deleting a portion of the originally transferred property, may all require a new deed of conveyance instead of a correction deed. When correcting the legal description, both grantor and grantee should sign the corrective instrument to avoid any doubt regarding the conveyed property.

Deeds.com Montana Correction Deed Forms Have Been Updated as Recently as Thursday June 6, 2019

4.7 out of 5 (646 Reviews)

What others like you are saying:


Tracey B. said: Has no problems at all, everything was perfect. TB

Reply from Staff: Thanks Tracey, we appreciate your feedback.


lee s. said: Over all quality of document was good. The issue I had was where it states claimant did not have a contract with the owner or their agent. I did have a contract with their agent, and there was no option for both. So had improvise.

Reply from Staff: Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it. Have a great day!


Patricia And James J. said: No review provided.

Reply from Staff: Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it. Have a great day!


Kelly L. said: So far so good. Please make the payment method easier after the information has been uploaded and submitted.

Reply from Staff: We appreciate your business and value your feedback. Thank you. Have a wonderful day!


David R. said: Great source of all required legal documents and supplements.

Reply from Staff: We appreciate your business and value your feedback. Thank you. Have a wonderful day!


Linda C. said: If I hadn't spent my career as an escrow officer (albeit in another state), I may have had a hard time figuring out exactly which deed I needed and how to prepare them, even with the back-up informational, how-to pdf documents, without an attorney. My experience speaks to how much the general public doesn't understand and how confusing it can be. Nonetheless, the access to so many documents at a fairly reasonable cost, the basic how-to docs made available along with the purchased doc makes all the difference. I appreciate having such things available to the public. Many thanks.

Reply from Staff: We appreciate your business and value your feedback. Thank you. Have a wonderful day!


Montana Correction Deed Form