My Account Deeds.com Real Estate Deeds

South Dakota Correction Deed

Use the correction deed to correct an error in a previously recorded deed of conveyance in South Dakota.

Correcting an error in a recorded deed helps prevent problems that might arise when the current owner tries to sell the property. The best method for correction is to prepare and record a new document, a so-called correction deed. This document does not convey title; instead, it re-enacts and confirms the prior conveyance of the property.

Apart from supplying the correct information, the new deed must give the reason for correcting, and it must reference the prior deed by title, date, and recording number. The original grantor must sign again, thus confirming the property transfer to the same grantee. Generally, corrective deeds are used to address minor errors in a deed, such as typos, accidentally omitted suffixes or middle initials in names, and other minor omissions. When in doubt about the gravity of an error and whether a correction deed is the appropriate vehicle to address it, consult with a lawyer.

For certain changes, a correction deed may not be appropriate. Adding or removing a grantee, for example, or making material changes to the legal description, especially deleting a portion of the originally transferred property, may all require a new deed of conveyance, instead of a correction deed. When correcting the legal description, both grantor and grantee should sign the corrective instrument to avoid any doubt regarding the conveyed property.

Deeds.com South Dakota Correction Deed Forms Have Been Updated as Recently as Tuesday December 3, 2019

4.7 out of 5 (1027 Reviews)

What others like you are saying:


HELEN F. said: Was straight to the point... Easy to read instructions... smooth process

Reply from Staff: Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it. Have a great day!


Alan K. said: The instructions and example for filling out the form were very clear and detailed making the whole process fairly easy. An attorney I talked to wanted $200 to fill out this simple form. I haven't tried to file it yet but I will let you know if there are any issues. Really a great deal. $20 vs $200.

Reply from Staff: We appreciate your business and value your feedback. Thank you. Have a wonderful day!


STEVEN J. said: Great , easy to use.

Reply from Staff: We appreciate your business and value your feedback. Thank you. Have a wonderful day!


GEORGE Q. said: Assistance from the associate was good. He told me what I needed to hear and took the time to look up deeds that I was looking for. Though the deed was not available he gave me recommendation on my future calls to ask. Great personality and very helpful.

Reply from Staff: Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it. Have a great day!


Joy V. said: Very helpful and efficient!

Reply from Staff: Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it. Have a great day!


HELEN F. said: Process was easy... paperwork was on point... process took less then one day...

Reply from Staff: We appreciate your business and value your feedback. Thank you. Have a wonderful day!


South Dakota Correction Deed Form