My Account Deeds.com Real Estate Deeds

South Dakota Correction Deed

Use the correction deed to correct an error in a previously recorded deed of conveyance in South Dakota.

Correcting an error in a recorded deed helps prevent problems that might arise when the current owner tries to sell the property. The best method for correction is to prepare and record a new document, a so-called correction deed. This document does not convey title; instead, it re-enacts and confirms the prior conveyance of the property.

Apart from supplying the correct information, the new deed must give the reason for correcting, and it must reference the prior deed by title, date, and recording number. The original grantor must sign again, thus confirming the property transfer to the same grantee. Generally, corrective deeds are used to address minor errors in a deed, such as typos, accidentally omitted suffixes or middle initials in names, and other minor omissions. When in doubt about the gravity of an error and whether a correction deed is the appropriate vehicle to address it, consult with a lawyer.

For certain changes, a correction deed may not be appropriate. Adding or removing a grantee, for example, or making material changes to the legal description, especially deleting a portion of the originally transferred property, may all require a new deed of conveyance, instead of a correction deed. When correcting the legal description, both grantor and grantee should sign the corrective instrument to avoid any doubt regarding the conveyed property.

Deeds.com South Dakota Correction Deed Forms Have Been Updated as Recently as Wednesday June 19, 2019

4.7 out of 5 (646 Reviews)

What others like you are saying:


Dale V. said: Great site good price everything easy to use and correct.. Thanks

Reply from Staff: We appreciate your business and value your feedback. Thank you. Have a wonderful day!


Doris I. said: My grandaughter in law got the info for me and it looks very help ul nThanks Doris

Reply from Staff: Thank you!


Robert V. said: Website seems to work great and documents are very clear and easy to review and download, thank you. Regards, Bob

Reply from Staff: We appreciate your business and value your feedback. Thank you. Have a wonderful day!


Cindi S. said: I asked for a letter of testamentary form and this is what I got. Not at all what I was hoping for. Just spent $20 for nothing. Very disappointed.

Reply from Staff: Thank your or your feedback. We are sorry to hear of the disappointment caused when you ordered our Colorado Personal Representative Deed of Distribution hoping you would receive something entirely different. We have corrected your mistake by canceling your order and payment. Have a wonderful day.


Linda C. said: If I hadn't spent my career as an escrow officer (albeit in another state), I may have had a hard time figuring out exactly which deed I needed and how to prepare them, even with the back-up informational, how-to pdf documents, without an attorney. My experience speaks to how much the general public doesn't understand and how confusing it can be. Nonetheless, the access to so many documents at a fairly reasonable cost, the basic how-to docs made available along with the purchased doc makes all the difference. I appreciate having such things available to the public. Many thanks.

Reply from Staff: We appreciate your business and value your feedback. Thank you. Have a wonderful day!


Veronica F. said: Im so happy with this site. It was quick and painless and worth the money hassle free if I ever need to settle another deed I will be back.

Reply from Staff: Thank you Veronica, we really appreciate your feedback.


South Dakota Correction Deed Form