My Account Deeds.com Real Estate Deeds

Vermont Special Warranty Deed

A limited warranty deed can be used in Vermont to convey title to real property. This type of deed is commonly used to convey property acquired through foreclosure. Limited warranty deeds are also used when a seller is unwilling to give a full warranty deed and the buyer is not willing to accept a quitclaim deed. There are no statutory deed forms for this state; common law legal language should be used in creating a limited warranty deed. The grantor in a limited warranty deed covenants that he is in lawful possession of the premises being conveyed and has good right and title to convey the same. There is also a covenant from the grantor to warrant and defend the title against all lawful claims and demands of persons claiming by, through, or under the grantor.

A limited warranty deed in Vermont must be signed by the grantor and acknowledged by the grantor before a town clerk, notary public, master, county clerk, judge, or register of probate before it can be recorded. An acknowledgment before a notary public in Vermont will be valid without an official seal being affixed to the notary's signature (27 341a). Notarial acts can be performed in Vermont or in another state. If a deed is acknowledged out of state according to the laws of such state where the acknowledgment is taken, the deed will be valid for recordation in Vermont. Out-of-state acknowledgments can be taken before any of the officers listed in 27 379.

Land records in Vermont are handled at a local level, which means that limited warranty deeds and other conveyances of real property are recorded in the town or city where the property subject to the deed is located. Until a limited warranty deed is signed, acknowledged, and recorded, it will not be effective to hold such lands against any person but the grantor and his or her heirs ( 342).

Deeds.com Vermont Special Warranty Deed Forms Have Been Updated as Recently as Monday April 22, 2019

4.7 out of 5 (468 Reviews)

What others like you are saying:


Jina N. said: Awesome site!! You guys really make it simple to understand and access any Deeds that I need. I know you keep very up to date forms, as my county is hard core when it comes to the smallest of details, even compared to every other county across the state. Yet you made it simple and quick, and I never had to redo anything. Even the clerk was impressed that I had it filled out correctly the first time, as that usually never happened. Even the size of type/font and the margins were perfect. That saved a lot of time, money and most of all, frustration. I've recommended you to relatives, friends and co-workers. Thanks to the staff at deeds dot com !! I truly appreciate you. j

Reply from Staff: Thank you!


Roger M. said: Great package it was nice to be able to get everything required for recording this deed in one place.

Reply from Staff: Thanks Roger, we appreciate your feedback.


Lindsey W. said: The service was great but after I did all my work and uploaded the documents they canceled my stuff because the county they had on the list doesnt take/or have set up e-recording yet. It was a bit disappointing because thats the only reason I was on here is because it brought me here from that countys sight.

Reply from Staff: Thank you for your feedback, sorry we were not able to provide the service for you. Hope you have a great day.


Eleody L. said: I mistakenly ordered the wrong package and within 3 minutes of asking for a replacement, I was given one by the company. I am extremely impressed with the prompt response and the forms! I will use this site again if I needed other deed forms!!!!

Reply from Staff: We appreciate your business and value your feedback. Thank you. Have a wonderful day!


Spencer A. said: Deeds.com made it so easy to file my paper work with the county. It saved me half a days travel and cost me about a tank of gas. This service was well worth the saved travel time and energy. I would highly recommend this service to other individuals. The other companies I spoke with only service law firms, title companies & banks etc. Thanks deed.com, I'll be back and will refer all my friends too.

Reply from Staff: Thank you so much Spencer, we really appreciate your feedback!


Doreen P. said: I have uploaded 2 documents for E recording, I have searched thinking it would prompt me to a business customer service contact info tel no. ? I am concerned as to the fees related to the recording of both instruments? please advise? thank you

Reply from Staff: Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it. Have a great day!


Vermont Special Warranty Deed Form