Deeds.com
Home > Recorder Information > Kansas > Atchison County  

Recorder Office Locations


Atchison County Register of Deeds
423 North 5th St., Atchison, Kansas 66002
8:30 to 5:00 M-F
Phone: (913) 367-2568
Atchison County Register of Deeds   423 North 5th St.,  Atchison, Kansas, 66002

 
 
 
Deeds.com is providing this information as a courtesy to our visitors. You are NOT on the Atchison County official website, you are on Deeds.com, a private website that is not affiliated with any government agency.
Atchison County Kansas Register of Deeds

Atchison County Recorder Information

The recorder in Atchison County is responsible for recording and maintaining records related to real property situated in the County.
 

Recording Fees

Recording fees are set by statute and must be paid at the time of recording. Payment can be made by cash, check, or money order payable to the Register of Deeds.

To record a deed, mortgage, or other instrument of writing not exceeding 8.5x14 inches, the fee is $8 for the first page and $4 for each additional page.

A mortgage release is $7 for the first page and $2 for each additional page. Each mortgage being released in a document is $5.

To certify any instrument of record, the fee is $1 per instrument.

An additional fee of $1 per document will be charged if corresponding names are not typed or printed underneath all signatures.
 
Document Formatting Requirements
The Register of Deeds office records, preserves, and maintains real property documents for the county. Warranty deeds, mortgages, and many other documents relating to real property located in Atchison County are recorded with the Register of Deeds. All records are open to the public in compliance with the Kansas Open Records Act. If the Register of Deeds finds that an instrument contains apparent errors, he/she will not record the instrument until the grantee has been notified, if such notification is possible.

Every such instrument in writing, certified and recorded in the manner hereinbefore prescribed, shall, from the time of filing the same with the register of deeds for record, impart notice to all persons of the contents thereof; and all subsequent purchasers and mortgagees shall be deemed to purchase with notice.

No such instrument in writing shall be valid, except between the parties thereto, and such as have actual notice thereof, until the same shall be deposited with the register of deeds for record.

• The document must be signed and notarized and have original signatures of the grantor and notary. The grantor’s name must be typed or printed beneath his/her signature. The notary must use a stamp or seal. If a raised seal is used, then the notary’s name must be printed or typed below the signature. A proper notary statement should include the state, county, signature, seal, expiration date, and the names of those who appeared before the notary.

• All schedules and exhibits accompanying the deed should be clearly identified and labeled.

• Original or certified copies may be accepted. Certified copies are only accepted if they have been certified by another recording office. Photocopies are not accepted.

• The document must be of sufficient legibility to produce a clear reproduction.

• Use paper measuring 8.5x11 inches or 8.5x14 inches. A font size of 12 point and black ink will help to ensure legibility.

• On the first page, provide the name and address of the person who prepared the document.

• The grantor, grantee, or any other person conveying or receiving real property or other interest in real property shall give the grantee’s last known mailing address to the Register of Deeds upon recording. The Register of Deeds will forward this address to the county clerk, who will make necessary changes in the address records for mailing tax statements.

• Sufficient space must be provided for necessary recording information and certification on the first page. According to the Register of Deeds website, “a 2.5 by 2.5 inch margin is appreciated.” Generally, recording information and certification is placed at the top of the first page. Providing a 3-inch top margin that extends the width of the page should offer sufficient space; however, it is best to check with the Register of Deeds for precise instructions. Other margins should be at least 1 inch.

• Immediately below the top margin on the first page, provide a document title.

• For documents pertaining to land records, a complete legal description is required. The abbreviated property description from tax statements cannot be used. This can be in the document or included as an exhibit. City descriptions include a lot, block, and addition or subdivision name. Boundaries indicated by a metes and bounds description should include section, township, and range. If a previously recorded instrument is referenced, the reference book and page should be included.

• The grantor and grantee connected with the real property must be identified in the deed.

• Deeds must list the marital status of grantors involved in the conveyance.

• A tax address must be provided on the deed if a sales validation questionnaire is not provided.

SALES VALIDATION QUESTIONNAIRE
A completed Sales Validation Questionnaire should be included with deeds presented for recording. The grantor or grantee (or either’s agent) should complete this form.

If the questionnaire is not included, an exemption must be noted on the deed. If no sales validation questionnaire is included, a tax address must be provided on the deed. A list of exempt documents is provided on the Kansas Register of Deeds website.

Check with the Kansas Register of Deeds to see if Atchison County is authorized to accept the 1-part form. If not, a 3-part form is required.
 
 
E-Recording
We may be able to e-record your deed documents in Atchison County, Click Here for more information.