My Account Real Estate Deeds

Chippewa County, Michigan

Recorder Offices

Chippewa County Register of Deeds

319 Court St, Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan 49783

8:00 to 5:00 M-F / Vault until 4:30

Phone: (906) 635-6312

Register of Deeds

You are NOT on the Chippewa County official website, you are on, a private website that is not affiliated with any government agency.

Michigan - Chippewa County Recorder Information

The Register of Deeds is responsible for recording and maintaining records for real property located in Chippewa County.

Recording Fees

Regardless of the number of pages, all documents will cost $30.00 to record, this cost is inclusive of the Michigan Remonumentation and Register of Deeds Automation fees.

For a document that assigns or discharges more than 1 instrument $3.00 for each instrument assigned or discharged (in addition to the $30.00 flat fee).

When recording a warranty deed or any deed containing a covenant of warranty land contract or assignment of land contract with a warranty clause, a tax certificate must be obtained prior to recording from the county treasurer's office. The Tax Certificate is $5 for up to twenty-five descriptions and $0.20 cents per additional description over 25.

If a document is being mailed in, the Register of Deeds will secure the Tax Certificate from the county treasurer prior to recording.

Transfer tax is collected on the total value of the land being transferred, unless it is exempt. If there is an exemption, it must be stated on the instrument.
The county transfer tax is 55 cents per $500 of consideration.
The state transfer tax is $3.75 per $500 of consideration.

Document Formatting Requirements

* The size of the document and of any attachment should be at least 8.5 x 11 inches, but not larger than 8.5 x 14 inches.

* White paper of at least 20 pound weight is required in order to produce a legible copy. Black ink in a font size of at least 10 point should be used.

* On the top of the first page, a blank margin of at least 2.5 inches should be provided. A margin of at least 1/2 an inch should be provided on all remaining sides of the page and on subsequent pages.

* On the first line of print on the first page, the document should have a single statement that identifies the recordable event that the instrument evidences.

* Signatures must be original and a corresponding name should be printed or typed underneath the signature. Names printed in the notary acknowledgment should match the names printed beneath the signatures.

* The marital status of male grantors should be stated in any instrument conveying or mortgaging property.

* The grantee's mailing address should be provided in any instrument conveying or mortgaging property.

* The name and address of the person who executed the document must be given on the document.

* Documents purporting to convey or encumber real estate executed in Michigan require an acknowledgment by a judge, clerk of a court of record, or a notary public within the state of Michigan.

* When "survivor" is indicated in a document, a certified copy of the death certificate or proof of death must have been recorded and referenced by Liber and Page on the document.

* Unless specifically allowed by state or federal law, rule, regulation, or court order or rule, certain documents will not be accepted for recording if all or more than 4 sequential digits of the social security number appear in the document.


A written instrument that is subject to tax shall state the total consideration of the real property on the face of the instrument. Or, a Real Estate Transfer Valuation Affidavit disclosing the total consideration can be filed at the time the instrument is presented for recording.

There is not a filing fee for the Real Estate Transfer Valuation affidavit, but a statement must be made on the face of the real property document that such an affidavit is being filed.

Transfer tax imposed by each act will be collected unless the transfer is exempt. Any exemptions must be stated on the face of the instrument being presented for recording.

The tax is imposed on the grantor. If two properties are being exchanged, the deeds transferring title to each are subject to Michigan Real Estate Transfer Tax, and in each case shall be computed on the basis of the actual value of the property conveyed.

Documentary stamps are to be purchased only in the county in which the property is located.

Conveyances affecting property situated in more than one county must state the portion of the sale price attributable to each parcel lying in the separate counties. Transfer tax must be paid to each county for that portion of the sale price.

For a list of exemptions and for a transfer tax table, visit the Chippewa Register of Deeds website.