Deeds.com
Home > Recorder Information > Oregon > Washington County  

Recorder Office Locations


Recording Division of Assessment & Taxation Department
155 North First Ave, Suite 130, MS 9, Hillsboro, Oregon 97124
8:30 to 4:30 M-F
Phone: (503) 846-8752
Recording Division of Assessment & Taxation Department  155 North First Ave, Suite 130, MS 9, Hillsboro, Oregon, 97124

 
 
 
Deeds.com is providing this information as a courtesy to our visitors. You are NOT on the Washington County official website, you are on Deeds.com, a private website that is not affiliated with any government agency.
Washington County Oregon Register of Deeds

Washington County Recorder Information

The Recording Division of the Assessment and Taxation Department is responsible for recording and filing permanent records pertaining to real property located in Washington County.
 

Recording Fees

The recording fee is $41 for the first page of a standard document and $5 for each additional page of the document. If there is printing on both sides of the page, it will be charged as two pages.

Each additional title in a document is $5.

Additional assignments, releases, and satisfactions are $5 each.

Copy fees are $4 for the first page and 25 cents for each additional page of the instrument. Certified copies are an additional $3.75. If mailing in copy requests, include 75 cents for postage or pre-paid postage.

If sufficient money is not included or if more than $5 over the correct fee is provided, the instrument will be returned unrecorded, along with a request for the correct fee. If unsure of the correct fees, visit the office for assistance or send in a blank check made out to Washington County with a statement that the check is not to exceed XX amount (the highest amount you want to authorize). The recording department will fill in the correct amount and return the instrument with a receipt after it has been recorded.

Transfer Tax

Transfer tax is imposed on each transfer of real property in Washington County, Oregon. If filing for a transfer tax exemption, it must be done within fifteen days from the recording of the instrument.

The transfer tax is $1 per $1,000 of consideration.

Contact the Washington County, Oregon county clerk at (503) 846-8741 to discuss recording and recording fees.
 
Document Formatting Requirements
The Recording Department in the Assessment and Taxation Division in Washington County, Oregon is responsible for recording and filing permanent records of deeds, mortgages, contracts, and many other documents pertaining to real property located in Washington County. The office is not permitted to give legal advice, assist in filling out instruments, or give advice as to what type of instrument is needed. Recorded documents are not able to be viewed online at this time. Instruments will be mailed back after they have been recorded.


A. Recording Statute

Every conveyance or instrument affecting the title to real property within the state of Oregon which is not recorded as required is void as against any subsequent purchaser in good faith and for a valuable consideration of the same real property, or any portion thereof, whose deed or conveyance is first filed for record and as against the heirs and assigns of such subsequent purchaser.

To give constructive notice of an interest in real property, a person must have documentation of the interest recorded in the proper indexes in the county where the property is located.


B. Recording Guidelines for Standard Instruments

In order for a document to be considered for recording, a legible original or certified copy of an original must be submitted. If any text of the instrument is not sufficiently legible to reproduce a readable photographic record after the recording process, the document will be returned without being recorded. Photocopies, other than certified copies, are not accepted. Electronically generated copies (especially of signatures and notary statements) are not accepted.

Use white paper sized 8.5 x 14 inches or 8.5 x 11 inches in order for the document to be considered standard. The font size should be 8 point or larger. The paper needs to be of a sufficient weight so that ink does not bleed through from one side to the other. The document should not contain any highlighting.

The first page must have a blank space measuring 3 ¼ inches x 3 ¼ inches in the top right hand corner, as measured from the right side of the page. This space is reserved for recording information and is to be left blank. If the required space is not provided, an additional $5 will be charged for an extra page on which to place the recording information. Side and bottom margins can be a minimum of 1.5 inches.

If flaps or riders are submitted with a document, they must be attached to the page on at least two sides. Anything under the flap or rider will not be recorded.

The document must contain the original signature of the party who is executing the instrument as well as the signature of the officer before whom acknowledgments were made.

The Recording Department does not provide notary services.


The first page must contain the following information, which should be clearly labeled:

1. The name of the transaction (type of document). A clear and obvious title will enable the clerk to record the document in the appropriate public record book. If more than one title is used, each title must be clearly distinguishable. If additional titles are found within the instrument and are not included as part of the instrument title, a non-standard instrument fee will be charged in addition to all other fees.

2. The names and addresses of the parties to the transaction, as well as under which capacity each party is serving. If a cover sheet lists multiple titles, each grantor and grantee’s address must be listed under each title.

3. The name and address of the person to whom the instrument is to be returned, labeled as “RETURN TO.”

4. The name and address of the person to whom future tax statements are to be sent, which should be provided in the following form: “Until a change is requested, all tax statements should be sent to the following address.”

5. The true and actual consideration, stated in dollars, paid for the property. This is required for all instruments conveying or contracting to convey fee title to any real estate. If the actual consideration consists of or includes other property or other value given or promised, neither the monetary value nor a description of the other property or value needs to be stated provided that it is noted on the face of the document that other property or value was either part of or the whole consideration.

6. If a document is being recorded in the Clerk’s lien records, list the judgment or warrant amount.

If an instrument does not meet the above requirements for the first page, a non-standard form fee of $20 will apply. This is in addition to all other fees.

All Assignments of Mortgage and Trust Deeds must include the name and address of the assignee on the first page. If the assignee’s name is given without the address, the document will be rejected as non-recordable. If the assignee’s name and address is given on a page other than the first page, the non-standard document fee of $20 will be charged in addition to all other applicable recording fees.

A mandatory statement for sales agreements, earnest money receipts, or other instruments for conveyance of fee title to real property must be included in the body of the deed. The full text of this statement appears in 93.040 of the Oregon Revised Statutes.


RE-RECORDINGS

If an instrument has been recorded and then is later found to have missing, incomplete, or incorrect information, it can be re-recorded. The following statement needs to be provided on an instrument submitted for re-recording: “RERECORDED AT THE REQUEST OF ____________ TO CORRECT (reason for re-recording) __________________. PREVIOUSLY RECORDED IN BOOK ______ AND PAGE ________, OR AS FEE NUMBER ________.”

If re-recording an original instrument, the necessary changes may be made on the document itself. The required re-recording statement must be included on the first page of the document or on an attached cover sheet that contains the first-page requirements. The corrected instrument does not need to be acknowledged again.

If re-recording a certified copy of a previously recorded instrument, a certified copy of the original instrument may not be altered to correct the original. An unaltered certified copy of the recorded original should be attached to a cover sheet. The cover sheet must contain the required first page information. The re-recorded document can contain attachments identified on the cover sheet that are necessary to make the corrections.


C. Types of Conveyances

A conveyance of land or interest therein can be made by deed, signed by the person of lawful age from whom the estate or interest is intended to pass, and acknowledged or proved, and then recorded in the county where the property is located.

Adverse possession: No grant or conveyance of lands or of interest in land is void for the reason that at the time of its execution the lands were in the actual possession of another person claiming adversely.

A conveyance or devise of real property, or an interest in real property that is made to two or more persons (a) creates a tenancy in common unless the conveyance or devise clearly and expressly declares that the grantees or devisees take the real property with right of survivorship, (b) creates a tenancy by the entirety if the conveyance or devise is to a husband and wife unless the instrument states otherwise, or (c) creates a joint tenancy as described in ORS 93.190 if the conveyance or devise is to a trustee.


Warranty Deed: A warranty deed in Oregon will have the following effect: (a) It will convey the entire interest in the described property which the deed purports to convey at the date of the deed, (b) the grantors and the heirs, successors, and assigns of the grantor are forever estopped from asserting that the grantor had, at the date of the deed, an estate or interest in the land less than that estate or interest which the deed purported to convey and the deed shall pass any and all after-acquired title.

A warranty deed includes the following covenants, each of which shall run in favor of the grantee and the successors in title of the grantee as if written at length in the deed: 1) that at the time the deed is delivered, the grantor is seized of the estate in property which he/she purports to convey and has good right to convey the property, 2) that at the time the deed was delivered, the property is free from encumbrances except as specifically set forth in the deed, and 3) that the grantor warrants and will defend the title to the property against all persons who may lawfully claim the same.

If the grantor to a warranty deed wants to exclude any encumbrances from the scope of the covenants, such exclusions must be expressly set forth in the deed.


Special Warranty Deed: A special warranty deed will have the same effect as a warranty deed, except that the covenant of freedom from encumbrances will be limited to those encumbrances created or suffered by the grantor. The covenant of warranty is limited to read: “That the grantor warrants and will defend the title to the property against all persons who may lawfully claim the same by, through, or under the grantor.” If the grantor wants to exclude any encumbrances from the scope of the covenants, the exclusions must be specifically set forth in the deed.


Quitclaim Deed: A deed of quitclaim and release is sufficient to pass all the estate that the grantor could lawfully convey by a deed of bargain and sale.

A quitclaim deed in Oregon will have the effect of conveying whatever title or interest, legal or equitable, the grantor may have in the described property at the date of the deed, but will not transfer any title or interest that the grantor may subsequently acquire, nor shall it operate as estoppel.

When a grantee takes title by way of quitclaim deed, he/she will not, merely by receipt of title by or through such a deed, be denied the status of a good faith purchaser for value.
 
 
E-Recording
We may be able to e-record your deed documents in Washington County, Click Here for more information.
 
Supplemental Documents

Notary Certificates