My Account Deeds.com Real Estate Deeds

New Mexico Correction Deed

Use the correction deed to amend a previously recorded warranty, special warranty, or quitclaim deed.

A correction deed explains and corrects an error in a prior instrument, especially if such an error might cloud the title and potentially affect its future transfers. The correction deed passes no title, but reiterates and confirms the conveyance effected by the previously recorded document. Therefore, it must be executed from the original grantor to the original grantee and recorded in order to be legally valid.

The correction deed should reference the prior conveyance by type of error, date of execution, date of recording, as well as by recording number and location. Beyond that, it restates the information given in the prior deed, thus serving as its confirmation. The original instrument remains on record as well.

Deeds of correction are most appropriate for minor errors and omissions in the original deed, such as misspelled names, omission of marital status, or typos in the legal description. More substantial changes, such as adding a name to the title or adding/subtracting a portion of land to the legal description of the property, usually require a new deed of conveyance instead of a mere correction deed. When in doubt, seek legal counsel to determine the most appropriate instrument for a case that involves such a material change.

Deeds.com New Mexico Correction Deed Forms Have Been Updated as Recently as Friday June 14, 2019

4.7 out of 5 (646 Reviews)

What others like you are saying:


Barry C. said: prompt, complete and efficient process --- kudos to you

Reply from Staff: Thank you so much Barry. Have a great day!


Kimberly R. said: Very easy to use. Very informative. I think this is a very good service and is worth the $19 especially if you value time.

Reply from Staff: Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it. Have a great day!


Will C. said: I was very happy with my interaction. The county didn't supply the book and page which was what I needed. The tech refunded my money since I didn't get the info I needed. I will use Deeds.com again.

Reply from Staff: Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it. Have a great day!


Janette K. said: I ordered a Transfer of Deed on Death document. It was easy to fill in, came with a useful guide and was customized to my county/state. It got the job done and was well worth the money!

Reply from Staff: Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it. Have a great day!


Lindsey W. said: The service was great but after I did all my work and uploaded the documents they canceled my stuff because the county they had on the list doesnt take/or have set up e-recording yet. It was a bit disappointing because thats the only reason I was on here is because it brought me here from that countys sight.

Reply from Staff: Thank you for your feedback, sorry we were not able to provide the service for you. Hope you have a great day.


Heather R. said: Fast and convenient service.

Reply from Staff: Thank you Heather, we appreciate your feedback.


New Mexico Correction Deed Form