Home > Recorder Information > Alaska  
Alaska Register of Deeds
Alaska Recorder Information
Alaska Recorder’s office oversees 34 recording districts that record, index, and archive all of the documents that create the Official Public Record of the State of Alaska. Approximately 1,000 new documents are recorded and added to the record each day. Millions of documents have been recorded in the official records since prior to statehood.

All official records are public information and may be viewed by or copied for anyone. Alaska statutes and regulations govern the prices charged for recording and making copies of these records either on paper, film, CD or electronic formats. The public can find documents by accessing the statewide recording system database at any DNR recording office throughout the state (Anchorage, Fairbanks, Juneau, Palmer, Kenai, Ketchikan, Sitka, Bethel, Homer, Valdez, and Kodiak), or on the Internet.

Most recorders in Alaska have a Grantor/Grantee alphabetical index, as well as a location index (by legal description) which reflect documents recorded from the early 1970's to current. Searching for information prior to the early 1970's requires a manual review of the original book records and indices at the appropriate district office. (Due to staffing limitations and liability risks, recording staff are not authorized to perform in-depth research of this type.)

Once a document is located from the index and the book and page number or serial number is identified, the public may then view the actual document, and/or make paper copies, by using microfilm viewing and printing equipment. PLEASE NOTE: Most recording offices maintain microfilm records for the districts they serve only.

Anchorage maintains records for Anchorage, Iliamna, Kvichak, Bristol Bay, Aleutian Islands, and Cordova districts; Fairbanks maintains records for the northern region, including Fairbanks, Rampart, Fort Gibbon, Nulato, Kotzebue, Barrow, Nenana, Manley Hot Springs, Mt. McKinley, Bethel, Kuskokwim and Nome districts; Juneau maintains records for the southeast region, including Juneau, Haines, Skagway, Ketchikan, Petersburg, Wrangell and Sitka districts.

An additional office in Nome is available for research only, not for recording.

If you need assistance in finding or obtaining a copy of a recorded document, recording personnel are available to assist you at each office. You may order and pay for a document from another district and have the document mailed to your home address.