Deeds.com Real Estate Deeds
Deeds.com Account
Sign In

Alpine County, California

Recorder Offices


County Assessor / Recorder

99 Water Street / PO Box 155, Markleeville, California 96120

Mon-Fri 8:00-12:00, 1:00-5:00 / Recording until 4:00

Phone: 530-694-2283


Register of Deeds

You are NOT on the Alpine County official website, you are on Deeds.com, a private website that is not affiliated with any government agency.

California - Alpine County Recorder Information

The Assessor/Recorder is responsible for recording and maintaining real property records in Alpine County.

Recording Fees

The first page of a document sized 8.5 x 11 inches is $12. Each additional page or fraction thereof is $3.

Each page larger than 8.5 x 11 is $3, and 8.5 x 14 inches is the maximum size accepted.

A reference to a previously recorded document is $1 for each reference after the first.

For indexing additional names after the first 10, there will be a $1 fee.

Combined documents will be $12 per document.

The documentary transfer tax is $1.10 per $1,000 of consideration.

If a PCOR form is required but not submitted at the time of recording, an additional $20 will be charged.

County recording fees are subject to change without notice. For the most current fees and further information, contact the local recorder directly.

A self-addressed, stamped envelope must be included for return of document.

On January 1, 2018, California Senate Bill 2, a.k.a., the "Building Homes and Jobs Act," goes into effect and may increase recording fees for real estate instruments. The fee will address homelessness and housing shortages, and help to increase the rate of home ownership within the State by creating a Building Homes and Jobs Trust Fund to which the additional fee will be remitted.

Upon taking effect, the recorder's office will impose a fee of $75.00 to be paid when recording every real estate instrument, paper, or notice required or permitted by law to be recorded, per each single transaction per single parcel of real property, not to exceed $225.00.

Transfers subject to the documentary transfer tax as defined in Section 11911 of the Revenue and Taxation Code or on any real estate instrument, paper, or notice recorded in connection with a transfer of real property that is a residential dwelling to an owner-occupier are exempt from this fee.

If you have any questions about how the Building Homes and Jobs Act affects your recording fees, please speak with a clerk with the Recorder's Office or a licensed attorney within the state.

Document Formatting Requirements

- Document should be on 8.5 x 11 inch white paper or 8.5 x 14 inch white paper and must be sufficiently legible to be reproduced. The first page font requirement is 10 point, but subsequent pages can be 8 point.

- In order to be recorded, the document must be in English or must be accompanied by a certified English translation.

- On the bottom of the first page, the tax statement address should be provided.

- On the top right corner of the first page, a 2.5 x 5 inch space should be left for the recorder's use.

- The top left 2.5 x 3.5 inches should contain the return address information and identification of the person requesting the recording.

- Immediately below the recorder's space and return address information, a document title should be given.

- Side margins should be at least 1/2 an inch for all pages of a document.

- If the top-of-the-page requirements cannot be met, then a separate first page may be used for recording. This will result in additional fees.

- If a document includes any exhibits, these must be properly marked and on separate pages.

- A Documentary Transfer Tax Declaration must be completed and signed for all deeds.

- A legal description of the real property must be provided.

Deeds.com Real Estate Deeds

Nothing on this website should be considered a substitute for the advice of an attorney.

© DEEDS.COM INC. 1997 - 2022 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED | (330) 606-0119 | P.O. Box 5264, Fairlawn, OH 44334