You are NOT on the Los Angeles County official website, you are on Deeds.com, a private website that is not affiliated with any government agency.
The Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk is responsible for maintaining records for real property located in Los Angeles County.
Base Fee: $15.00 (G.C. 2736 (a), 1.4(a), (b), (c))
Each additional page: $3.00
Each additional title: $15.00
Fraud Notification Fee: $7.00 (G.C. 27387.1). Charged for the following documents: Deed, Quitclaim Deed, Deed of Trust, Notice of Default, Notice of Sale
District Attorney Fraud Fee: $3.00 (G.C. 27388). Only applies to Quitclaim Deed not subject to transfer tax. Charged for each title in combined documents.
Survey Monument Preservation Fee: $10.00 (G.C. 27585). Charged when the interest in reap property conveyed uses legal description that is not shown on a recorded subdivision tract map.
Nonconforming fee: $3.00 (for each page not conforming to 8.5" x 11")
Penalty print: $1.00
Referencing fee: $1.00 (for each additional reference)
Indexing fee: $4.00 (for each group of ten names beyond the first)
Penalty fee for missing Preliminary Change of Ownership Report (PCOR): $20.00
County recording fees are subject to change without notice. For the most current fees and further information, contact the local recorder directly.
Include the recording fees, payment can be made by cash, personal check, cashier's check or money order.
Make checks payable to: LA County Registrar-Recorder/ County Clerk.
Mail to: PO Box 1250, Norwalk, CA 90651-1250
On January 1, 2018, California Senate Bill 2, a.k.a., the "Building Homes and Jobs Act," goes into effect and may increase recording fees for real estate instruments. The fee will address homelessness and housing shortages, and help to increase the rate of home ownership within the State by creating a Building Homes and Jobs Trust Fund to which the additional fee will be remitted.
Upon taking effect, the recorder's office will impose a fee of $75.00 to be paid when recording every real estate instrument, paper, or notice required or permitted by law to be recorded, per each single transaction per single parcel of real property, not to exceed $225.00.
Transfers subject to the documentary transfer tax as defined in Section 11911 of the Revenue and Taxation Code or on any real estate instrument, paper, or notice recorded in connection with a transfer of real property that is a residential dwelling to an owner-occupier are exempt from this fee.
If you have any questions about how the Building Homes and Jobs Act affects your recording fees, please speak with a clerk with the Recorder's Office or a licensed attorney within the state.
Documents may be presented for recording in person, by mail or by a courier service. Each document presented for recording MUST include or comply with the following general requirements:
- The property must be located in Los Angeles County. (CC1169)
- The document must be authorized or required by law to be recorded. (GC 27201)
- Signatures must be original unless the document is a certified copy issued by the appropriate custodian of the public record. (GC 27201b, GC 27279, Evid Code 1530)
- The legibility of a document is important to the quality of the permanent record.
- Include the name of the party requesting the recording and a name and address where the document can be returned. (GC 27361.6)
- The document must be properly acknowledged, unless exempt. California requires an all-purpose acknowledgement. (GC 27201, 27289, 27285, 27287, 27288, CC 1189)
- The Assessor's Parcel or Identification Number, or numbers that fully contain all or a portion of the real property, is required on deeds, trust deeds and mortgages (Gov. Code 27297.6).
- If tax is due, the amount must be show on the face of the document, along with the incorporated or unincorporated location of the lands, tenements, or other realty described in the document. (The recorder will no longer accept "not for public record/NPR" or the "Declaration of Documentary Transfer Tax for Legal Entity Changes in Ownership" forms for this purpose.)
- The notary seal must be legible for a microfilm reproduction. (GC 8207)
- Include a completed Preliminary Change of Ownership Report in order to avoid a $20 penalty fee.
- Standard page size is 8-1/2" by 11"; other page sizes incur additional recording fees.
- Margin requirements: 2.5" at top of first page; the left 3.5" across for party requesting recording and return address, the right for use by the Registrar-Recorder. Left and right side margins: 0.5".
- If the first page of a document does not comply with these legal requirements, attach a separate page to the front of the document which meets these spacing criteria and which includes the title or titles of the document.
- Documents must be clearly legible in order to produce a readable photographic record. This pertains to the document text, notary seals, certificates and other attachments, such as legal descriptions. (Gov. 27361.7)