You are NOT on the Delaware County official website, you are on Deeds.com, a private website that is not affiliated with any government agency.
The Recorder of Deeds is responsible for recording and maintaining real property records in Delaware County.
The total fee for recording a four page deed is $116.25. Additional pages are $4 each. Each additional name after four is $1 and each additional folio after 10 is $1.
Base fee $38.00
County Affordable Housing (Ord 99-3) $16.00
Act 152(Demolition of Blighted Properties) $15.00
Act 113 &126 JCS/ATJ& House Bill 1607 (CJEA)$40.25
County Improvement Fund (Act 32-02) $5.00
TOTAL 4 PAGE MTG $114.25
Each additional page after four is $4. Each additional name after four is $1 and each additional folio after 10 is $1. A mortgage validation fee of $10 will also apply.
Total 4 Page $83.25
The fee for returning an un-recordable document is $2.
If no return envelope is provided, an additional $1 will be added.
To obtain a folio number, the fee is $5.
A certification is $7 for four pages. Each additional page is $1.
Three separate checks are required for deeds: one for recording fees, one for the state transfer tax, and one for the local transfer tax. Recording checks should be made out to the Recorder of Deeds. Transfer checks can be made out to Thomas J. Judge, Sr., Agent. State and local transfer tax are 1%, except for Radnor, which is 1.5% and Upper Province, which is 2%.
If you need further assistance regarding recording fees, contact the Delaware County Recorder at 610-891-4152.
* According to the Delaware County Recorder of Deeds, an exact copy of the deed is needed for recording. All papers presented to the Recorder of Deeds for recording must be original documents, properly executed, signed, dated, and acknowledged before a notary public with the notary's legible seal, signature, and expiration date of the commission before they can be accepted for recording.
* Documents that are not clear and legible will be returned as un-recordable.
* Notary acknowledgments will not be accepted if the seal, signature, and ink print are on top of each other. The printed stamp must be clear. It will not be accepted if it is filled in.
* The maximum size paper accepted is 8.5 x 14 inches, and the minimum size is 8.5 x 11 inches. Use white, standard weight copy paper.
* All foreign language documents must include a written or typed English language translation to be recorded along with the original.
* Names of the parties given throughout the document need to be consistent. Original signatures in dark blue or black ink are required. Corresponding names should be printed or typed beneath signatures.
* Use black ink with a font size of at least 10 point.
* Margins should be at least 1 inch, unless otherwise noted, and clear of all markings. A 3 inch top margin on the first page is required.
* All deeds require a Uniform Parcel Identification number before they can be recorded. The UPI should be in the upper left corner of the deed. The number is issued by the County Assessment Office. Contact the Delaware County Register of Deeds with any questions.
* The acknowledgment date should not predate the execution date. Seals or stamps should not cover any printed material or signatures.
* All deeds, mortgages, and assignments require a signed certificate of address for the grantee or mortgagee. This is called the certificate of residence.
* Multiple documents in one transaction must be clearly numbered as to the proper order for recording. The document presenter is responsible for paying any re-recording expenses resulting from an improper order of documents.
* On the first page, provide a legal description of the real property and the address related to the real property. The legal description needs to include the municipality, county, and state of the property.
* Re-recorded or correction documents must clearly state the reason for re-recording and must have a new acknowledgment.
When a deed conveys property in more than one municipality, it is required to state what portion of the total value is credited to each taxing body with a Pennsylvania Statement of Value.
Deeds in the city of Chester must be registered with the city through the Recorder of Deeds office.
STATEMENT OF VALUE
This is a state form that is used to set the value of property being conveyed or to explain the reason for an exemption of transfer tax. A Statement of Value must be presented with a deed that is exempt. It is required any time the true value of a property is not shown on the face of the deed (such as in a $1 consideration) or when the tax is not paid at recording. Non-family tax exemptions must have a Statement of Value. If a deed is exempt, the reason for exemption must be stated on the document.
When this form is required, it should be submitted in duplicate. When fees are assessed, the Statement of Value counts as a page, as do any exhibits attached to the form.