My Account Deeds.com Real Estate Deeds

Luzerne County, Pennsylvania

Recorder Offices


Recorder of Deeds - County Courthouse

200 North River St, Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania 18711

9:00am to 4:20 pm Monday through Friday

Phone: (570) 825-1641


Register of Deeds

You are NOT on the Luzerne County official website, you are on Deeds.com, a private website that is not affiliated with any government agency.

Pennsylvania - Luzerne County Recorder Information

The Recorder of Deeds office is responsible for recording real property documents for the county. The office also acts as a collection agent for realty transfer tax for the Pennsylvania Department of Revenue, along with all of the municipalities and school districts in Luzerne County.

Recording Fees

All recording fees and transfer taxes are due upon recording.
The fee to record a deed or mortgage is $71.75 Document fees include up to four pages, four names, and one PIN. Each name over four is $0.50 per name. Additional pages over four are $2 a page. Each additional PIN is $0.50.

The Assessor's Office charges a separate fee of $20.00 to certify each PIN. The fee is payable to "Luzerne County Treasurer".

A deed easement is $63.75 (requires a Statement of Value if not taxable).

Miscellaneous deeds (addendum, assignment of rents and leases (or the Satisfaction of), bill of sale, declaration of acquisition, protective covenants and restrictions, disclaimer, easement termination agreement, right of first refusal) are $23.50 to record.

Certification of a document is $2.

The document rejection fee (applied each time a document is rejected) is $10.

Rejected documents with no return postage are charged an additional $2.

Self-addressed stamped envelopes are required for the return of documents and recording receipts. The Luzerne County Recorder will not forward or accept mail for Title Searchers or Abstracters. If there is no fee specified in the statutes, the Recorder will set the fee. The Recorder of Deeds will not accept more than ten documents per check. The office does not issue refunds. The check can be returned or any overage can be forfeited to the county.

TRANSFER TAX

State and municipal tax each amount to 1% of the value of the property or interest being conveyed (2% total). For property located in Wilkes-Barre city, the municipal tax is 2.5% (3.5% total); property located in Kingston borough has a 1.5% municipal tax (2.5% total). This value is not necessarily the sale price of the property; it may be computed on the fair market value of the property if it is a gift or under other special circumstances.

The Recorder of Deeds cannot accept a deed unless the tax is paid at the time of recording. In most sales agreements, this is split between the buyer and seller.

Call the Luzerne County Recorder of Deeds at (570) 825-1641 if you have questions about fee schedules or payment options.

Document Formatting Requirements

* All documents presented for recording must be original, properly executed, signed, dated, and acknowledged before a notary public with the notary's signature and seal. The maximum size paper accepted is 8.5 x 14 inches, and the minimum size is 8.5 x 11 inches. Use white, standard weight copy paper.

* The entire document must meet legibility requirements in order to be recorded. After the document has been imaged, the copy must be readable without magnification.

* All foreign language documents must include a written or typed English language translation to be recorded along with the original.

* The names given throughout the document need to be consistent. Original signatures in dark blue or black ink are required. Corresponding names should be printed or typed beneath signatures.

* The text should be in black ink, with a font size of at least 10 point.

* Margins should be at least 1 inch, unless otherwise noted, and clear of all markings.

* PIN numbers assigned to the property are required on all documents. The Assessor's Office will certify PINs on documents on the top margin. The Luzerne County Recorder's office requires a 2.5 inch margin at the bottom of at least two pages for the recording stamp.

* The acknowledgment date should not predate the execution date. Seals or stamps should not cover any printed material or signatures.

* All deeds, mortgages, and assignments require a signed certificate of address for the grantee or mortgagee.

* Multiple documents in one transaction must be clearly numbered as to the proper order for recording. The document presenter is responsible for paying any re-recording expenses resulting from an improper order of documents.

* On the first page of the document, provide a legal description of the real property and the address related to the real property. The legal description needs to include the municipality, county, and state of the property.

* Deeds or leases presented for recording with property in more than one municipality must clearly state in the document what the proportional share is (in percentage) as to the division of the local realty transfer taxes.

* Re-recorded or correction documents must clearly state the reason for re-recording and must have a new acknowledgment.

STATEMENT OF VALUE

A Statement of Value is required whenever the transfer tax is not paid or when the true value of the land is not shown on the deed (such as in a 1$ consideration). State investigators will check the property to see if the value is as stated or if the reason given for exemption is valid.

When a deed transfer requires a Statement of Value, the Recorder of Deeds requires one original and one copy (to be sent to the state). All information is to be completed on the Statement of Value (i.e. school district, assessed value, common level ratio). It must also be signed and dated by a person connected with the transaction. When fees are assessed, the Statement of Value will be counted as a page, as will any exhibits attached to the form.

Non-family tax exemptions must have a Statement of Value. If a deed is exempt, the reason for exemption must be stated on the document.