You are NOT on the Arlington County official website, you are on Deeds.com, a private website that is not affiliated with any government agency.
Real property located in the county is recorded with the Land Records Division in the Clerk of the Circuit Court's office. Once recorded, a document is a public record and open to inspection.
The basic deed processing fee is $20 (charged when there is a state grantee tax assessed). A clerk fee of $14.50 as well as other miscellaneous fees are added to that amount depending on the type of deed or document to be recorded.
For a detailed list of fees and taxes, see the fee schedule posted under supplemental documents. A deed calculator is available by following the link for the cover sheet.
A credit/debit card convenience fee is charged and may vary from court to court. Contact the land records division of the local court.
* As of January 2016, the Virginia Land Record Cover Sheet (VLRCS) is no longer required in Arlington County.
* Deeds submitted for recordation must be originals--not faxed or photocopied. All documents must be signed and notarized before they can be recorded.
* Paper size should be 8.5 x 11 inches, and white paper of at least 20 pound weight should be used.
* The bottom margin of the signature page must be at least 2 inches. All other margins should be at least 1 inch. The circuit clerk may require a 1.5 inch margin on the left side for bound books.
* The text of the document should be at least 10 point and typed or written in black ink.
* Every deed shall name the grantor and grantee under whose name the instrument is to be indexed in the first clause.
* Deeds must be dated, state the consideration, and include a legal description of the real property.
* A parcel identification number should be listed on the first page of any land instrument.
* The grantee's current address must be provided on the deed.
* The first time an individual's surname is used in the document, it should be underscored or written entirely in capital letters.
* Each page of the document should be numbered.
* The code section under which any exemption from recordation taxes is claimed should be clearly stated on the face of the deed.
* The first page of the instrument should show the name of the person who drafted it.
* A deed conveying not more than four residential dwelling units should state on the first page of the document the name of the title insurance underwriter insuring such instrument or a statement that the existence of title insurance is unknown to the preparer.
* A deed conveying not more than four residential dwelling units should state on the first page of the document that it was prepared either by the owner of the real property or by an attorney licensed to practice law in the Commonwealth of Virginia (including both the attorney's name and Virginia State Bar number).
* The party preparing the document must include a contact phone number on the first page of the document.