Deeds.com Real Estate Deeds
Deeds.com Account
Sign In

Michigan Correction Deed

Michigan Correction Deed Information

Use this correction deed to correct an error in a previously executed and recorded deed.

Correction deeds are used to adjust the earlier deed when that document contains minor errors of omission or typographical errors, sometimes called scrivener's mistakes. For example, a misspelled name, an omitted or wrong middle initial, a minor error in the property description, or an omitted execution date. Do not us the correction deed for more substantial changes, such as the removal of a name from a deed. Such alterations are better handled through a quit claim deed.

The correction deed, also called corrective deed, must state that its sole purpose is to correct a specific error, which is usually identified by type. For example: an error in the grantor's name, or an error in the grantor's marital status. It also must clearly reference the type of document it is correcting and state the execution and recording date of that prior document, as well as the number under which it was recorded, either referred to as instrument number or liber (book) and page number.

In subsequent sections, the correction deed repeats the information that was in the prior deed with the exception of the false, ambiguous or omitted information that needs to be corrected. By restating all the information from the earlier deed, this new deed of correction will confirm the previously recorded deed, which remains on record as is.

Warranty deeds require a tax stamp from the treasurer's office before recording. If the prior deed is a warranty deed and the legal description is being corrected, be sure to get a new tax stamp for the current instrument as well. In some counties, any deed that contains the word "warrant" must be checked by the treasurer's office first regardless of the type of correction.

Deeds.com Michigan Correction Deed Forms Have Been Updated as Recently as Friday May 6, 2022

4.8 out of 5 (3470 Reviews)

What others like you are saying:


Billy R. said: Thank you...........easy process........Billy C

Reply from Staff: Thank you!


Michael W. said: I needed a quitclaim deed to transfer ownership of a home. An attorney wanted $400.00 to file the deed. I downloaded a blank deed for my area from deeds.com. I received it instantly. (Small fee) it came with instructions and a template. I filled it out and submitted it to the County Clerks office.it was simple and I saved a lot of money. There may be other forms you need, check with whoever you are submitting the deed. You'll have additional fees, but that is up to the municipality in which you reside. It will be helpful if you have the latest deed on file. It was much easier than I thought. This is an easy website to navigate through and it is 100% legitimate. I recommend Deeds.com.

Reply from Staff: Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it. Have a great day!


George R. said: Your website worked but I am waiting for answers for two questions.

Reply from Staff: Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it. Have a great day!


Melody P. said: Thanks again for such excellent service, and always a pleasure!

Reply from Staff: Thank you!


Theresa M. said: This company was very thorough in having all the forms that I needed.

Reply from Staff: Thank you!


Lindsey W. said: The service was great but after I did all my work and uploaded the documents they canceled my stuff because the county they had on the list doesnt take/or have set up e-recording yet. It was a bit disappointing because thats the only reason I was on here is because it brought me here from that countys sight.

Reply from Staff: Thank you for your feedback, sorry we were not able to provide the service for you. Hope you have a great day.


Deeds.com Real Estate Deeds

Use of Deeds.com Legal Forms. On our Site we make available for use self-help "fill in the blank" forms. If you use a form on our Site, you explicitly agree to our Terms of Use. You understand and agree that your purchase and/or use of a form document is neither legal advice nor the practice of law, and that each form and any applicable instructions or guidance is not customized to your particular needs, not guaranteed or warranted to be current, up to date, or accurate.

NO WARRANTY. Do It Yourself Legal Forms available on our Website are not guaranteed to be usable, correct, up to date, or fit for any legal purpose. Use of any Do It Yourself Legal Form from our website is done so AT YOUR OWN RISK.

If you use any Do It Yourself Legal Form available on Deeds.com, you agree that: TO THE EXTENT PERMITTED BY APPLICABLE LAW, IN NO EVENT WILL WE BE LIABLE FOR DAMAGES OF ANY KIND (INCLUDING, WITHOUT LIMITATION, LOST PROFITS OR ANY SPECIAL, INCIDENTAL, OR CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES) ARISING OUT OF OR IN CONNECTION WITH THE LEGAL FORMS OR FOR ANY INFORMATION OR SERVICES PROVIDED TO YOU THROUGH THE DEEDS.COM WEBSITE. TO THE EXTENT THE FOREGOING LIMITATION OF LIABILITY IS PROHIBITED, OUR SOLE OBLIGATION TO YOU FOR DAMAGES WILL BE LIMITED TO $100.00.

Nothing on this website should be considered a substitute for the advice of an attorney.

© DEEDS.COM INC. 1997 - 2022 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED | (330) 606-0119 | P.O. Box 5264, Fairlawn, OH 44334