New Jersey Lis Pendens Forms | Deeds.com
My Account Deeds.com Real Estate Deeds

New Jersey Lis Pendens

Lis Pendens is Latin for "litigation pending". Think of Lis Pendens as "notice of lawsuit". Once recorded this gives notice to the world that there is litigation pending over a parcel of real property. A buyer would be held subject to the outcome of the litigation. This greatly discourages any transfer of title until litigation is resolved. Common uses of a Lis Pendens are: Quit Title Action, Mechanic's Lien, Foreclosure, and part of a divorce proceeding.

N.J.S.A.2A:15-6. Written notice of pendency of action; contents

In every action, instituted in any court of this State having civil jurisdiction or in the United States District Court for the District of New Jersey, the object of which is to enforce a lien upon real estate or to affect the title to real estate or a lien or encumbrance thereon, plaintiff or his attorney shall, after the filing of the complaint, file in the office of the county clerk or register of deeds and mortgages, as the case may be, of the county in which the affected real estate is situate, a written notice of the pendency of the action, which shall set forth the title and the general object thereof, with a description of the affected real estate.

No notice of lis pendens shall be filed under this article in an action to recover a judgment for money or damages only.

When a notice of lis pendens is filed in such an action, the plaintiff shall, within three days after the filing of the notice of lis pendens, serve upon the defendant a copy of the notice of lis pendens and of the complaint. See N.J.S.A.. 2A:15-7. Included is a "Certificate of Service" form with instructions.

Deeds.com New Jersey Lis Pendens Forms Have Been Updated as Recently as Friday January 11, 2019

4.6 out of 5 (169 Reviews)

What others like you are saying:


Richard D. said: We are pleased with your service. It is user friendly and efficient,

Reply from Staff

Thank you!


DAVID S. said: I was very impressed with the speed at which information was retrieved on my very first search. Unfortunately, the county we were looking for is behind times and has not digitized its information. I will be using Deeds.Com again and appreciate that I was not charged for no information being returned back. Thank You David S

Reply from Staff

Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it. Have a great day!


Tracey B. said: Has no problems at all, everything was perfect. TB

Reply from Staff

Thanks Tracey, we appreciate your feedback.


New Jersey Lis Pendens Form