My Account Deeds.com Real Estate Deeds

Florence County, South Carolina

Recorder Offices


Florence County Clerk of Court

180 North Irby St, St. Florence, South Carolina 29501

8:30am to 5:00pm Monday through Friday

Phone: (843) 665-3031


Register of Deeds

You are NOT on the Florence County official website, you are on Deeds.com, a private website that is not affiliated with any government agency.

South Carolina - Florence County Recorder Information

In Florence County, the register of deeds is part of the clerk of courts. All instruments conveying an interest in real property located in the county must be recorded in the register's office in order to be valid.

The proper recording of a document provides notice to subsequent purchasers and also establishes a priority of claims against the property in question. Original documents will be mailed back to the proper party within one to two weeks from the date of recording.

Recording Fees

Deed: $15 + deed tax (see below)
Agreement, Amendment, some Assignments, Contract, Declaration, Dissolution, Easement, Lease, Mortgage, Restrictive Covenant, UCC Document, Waiver: $25
Affidavit, Article, some Assignments, Mechanics Lien, Release: $10

Unless the document is exempt, both state and county taxes are due upon recording. State documentary stamps are $1.30 per $500, and county documentary stamps are $0.55 per $500, rounding up the per $500 to the nearest whole number. Consult the deed stamps table under supplemental forms for specific amounts.

Contact the clerk of court in Florence County directly if you have questions about recording fees or transfer taxes.

Document Formatting Requirements

In order to be recorded, an instrument must be acknowledged or proved according to law. An instrument can be 1) acknowledged or proved by the affidavit of a subscribing witness to the instrument, taken before an officer in the state who is authorized to administer oaths; or 2) signed and acknowledged by the grantor in the presence of two witnesses, taken before an officer in the state who is authorized to administer oaths. The notary may use a South Carolina probate or acknowledgment.

The mailing address of the grantee must be included in the instrument.

All deeds conveying an interest in land must include a derivation clause with the property description. When the grantor's title was acquired by deed, the derivation clause must include the name of the grantor and the recording date of that deed.
When the deed from which the grantor derives title has been simultaneously executed and delivered, and has not yet been recorded, it is sufficient to set forth in the deed the name of the grantor of the deed of derivation and the date it is to be recorded. When the grantor's title was obtained by inheritance, the derivation clause must include the name of the person from whom the title was acquired, the approximate date of acquisition and in the case of property acquired under a probated will or administered estate, the probate court in which the estate was filed. A derivation clause is not required for a deed devoted to a railroad or utility purpose, and is also not needed on a quitclaim deed or non-warranty deed.

The clerk of court will not record a deed or mortgage unless it contains a derivation clause as required; provided, however a deed or mortgage may be recorded without such clause upon a showing that is satisfactory to the clerk of court that the necessary information for the derivation clause was not available.

Before a deed conveying real property can be recorded, it must be endorsed by the county auditor that it has been entered of record in his office.

When any deed conveying or creating an interest in real property refers to the boundaries, metes, courses, or distances of such real estate delineated, the deed should state the office, book, and page of the recording of such plat or blueprint.

When any real property used as a hazardous waste storage or disposal facility permitted by the South Carolina Code of Laws is sold, conveyed, leased, or transferred in any manner, the deed or instrument of transfer should contain the following phrase in the legal description, in the same size type as the rest of the instrument: "The real property conveyed or transferred by this instrument has previously been used as a storage or disposal facility for hazardous wastes."

Any conveyance of property that meets state and local laws requiring payment of recording fees, transfer fees, etc. must indicate the "True Consideration" or value in money's worth for that conveyance. The affidavit must show the value of the realty described in the deed unless the deed is exempt from the deed recording fee pursuant to provisions of Title 12, Chapter 24. If the deed is exempt, the value is not required to be stated in the affidavit, but the affidavit must state the reason the deed is exempt from the fee.


AFFIDAVIT

An affidavit showing the value of the real estate also needs to be filed when submitting a deed for recordation. If the deed is exempt, the value is not required to be stated on the affidavit, but the reason for exemption is required.

The affidavit must be signed by a responsible person connected with the transaction, and the connection must be stated. The register of deeds may waive the affidavit requirement at his discretion.

The total consideration paid should be indicated on the face of the deed. If the amount paid is not indicated, or has the words "in other consideration" or if a trade of property is involved, an Affidavit of True Consideration must be attached in order to reflect the actual value of the transaction.

A quit claim deed is subject to documentary stamps if there is a consideration paid. An affidavit of exempt transfers is required.