Deeds.com Real Estate Deeds
Deeds.com Account
Sign In

North Dakota Correction Deed

North Dakota Correction Deed Information

Use the correction deed to correct an error in a previously recorded deed of conveyance in North Dakota.

Correcting an error in a recorded deed helps prevent problems that might arise when the current owner tries to sell the property. The best method for correction is to prepare and record a new document, a so-called correction deed. This document does not convey title; instead, it confirms the prior conveyance of the property.

Apart from supplying the correct information, the new deed must give the reason for the correction by identifying the error. It also must reference the prior deed by title, date, and recording number. The original grantor has to sign again, which confirms the property transfer to the grantee. Generally, corrective deeds are used to address minor errors in a deed, such as typos, accidentally omitted suffixes or middle initials of names, and other minor omissions. When in doubt about the gravity of an error and whether a correction deed is the appropriate vehicle to address it, consult with a lawyer.

For certain changes, a correction deed may not be appropriate. Adding or removing a grantee, for example, or making material changes to the legal description, especially deleting a portion of the originally transferred property, may all require a new deed of conveyance, instead of a correction deed. When correcting the legal description, both grantor and grantee should sign the corrective instrument to avoid doubt regarding any portions of the conveyed property.

Deeds.com North Dakota Correction Deed Forms Have Been Updated as Recently as Monday January 23, 2023

4.8 out of 5 (3873 Reviews)

What others like you are saying:


MARIZON M. said: This site/service is amazing! The response is almost real-time and the fees are super reasonable. I will be using this again in the future should I need to file any other documents with the county and will also recommend it to others! Thank you!

Reply from Staff: Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it. Have a great day!


samira m. said: I love whoever is behind this website. I bought the wrong form and I told them and they refunded me asap! I figured out which form I need days later and bought it just now. They didn't have to refund me for my own mistake. That was very kind. I'll be returning for any other forms I may need and will tell others too. Thank you so much!!!!!

Reply from Staff: Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it. Have a great day!


Jay R. said: First time user. Great service, a little costly though

Reply from Staff: Thank you!


Donald C. said: As promised, my forms were immediately ready for download. The forms were exactly what i wanted. I couldnt be happier and i cant even guess how much money i saved. They were even formatted to the exact font, spacing and margin used by my county. It is obvious a lot of time and effort was put into the preparation of these documents. They are absolutely perfect. Check it out, you wont be disappointed and the price is much less than i expected. Don caldwell

Reply from Staff: We appreciate your business and value your feedback. Thank you. Have a wonderful day!


Hal M. said: Very good, and easy and fast to use.

Reply from Staff: Thank you!


James P. said: I wish I used this site more often. The format is pretty easy but the messages were invaluable and the staff were great. I was able to complete my transaction in a Covid environment from the security of my own home. Great service and tools!

Reply from Staff: Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it. Have a great day!


Deeds.com Real Estate Deeds

Use of Deeds.com Legal Forms. On our Site we make available for use self-help "fill in the blank" forms. If you use a form on our Site, you explicitly agree to our Terms of Use. You understand and agree that your purchase and/or use of a form document is neither legal advice nor the practice of law, and that each form and any applicable instructions or guidance is not customized to your particular needs, not guaranteed or warranted to be current, up to date, or accurate.

NO WARRANTY. Do It Yourself Legal Forms available on our Website are not guaranteed to be usable, correct, up to date, or fit for any legal purpose. Use of any Do It Yourself Legal Form from our website is done so AT YOUR OWN RISK.

If you use any Do It Yourself Legal Form available on Deeds.com, you agree that: TO THE EXTENT PERMITTED BY APPLICABLE LAW, IN NO EVENT WILL WE BE LIABLE FOR DAMAGES OF ANY KIND (INCLUDING, WITHOUT LIMITATION, LOST PROFITS OR ANY SPECIAL, INCIDENTAL, OR CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES) ARISING OUT OF OR IN CONNECTION WITH THE LEGAL FORMS OR FOR ANY INFORMATION OR SERVICES PROVIDED TO YOU THROUGH THE DEEDS.COM WEBSITE. TO THE EXTENT THE FOREGOING LIMITATION OF LIABILITY IS PROHIBITED, OUR SOLE OBLIGATION TO YOU FOR DAMAGES WILL BE LIMITED TO $100.00.

Nothing on this website should be considered a substitute for the advice of an attorney.

© DEEDS.COM INC. 1997 - 2023 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED | (330) 606-0119 | P.O. Box 5264, Fairlawn, OH 44334