Deeds.com
Home > Recorder Information > Oregon > Polk County  
Recorder Offices in Polk County

Polk County Clerk
850 Main St., Room 201, Dallas, Oregon 97338
8:30 to 4:30 M-F
Phone: (503) 623-9217
Polk County Clerk  850 Main St., Room 201,  Dallas, Oregon, 97338

 
 
 
Deeds.com is providing this information as a courtesy to our visitors. You are NOT on the Polk County official website, you are on Deeds.com, a private website that is not affiliated with any government agency.
Polk County Oregon Register of Deeds
Polk County Recorder Information
The recorder in Polk County is responsible for recording and maintaining records related to real property situated in the County.
 
Recording Fees
The fee to record a deed, easement, or mortgage is $46 for the first page. Each additional page is $5.

To record multiple-transaction instruments, an additional fee of $5 per instrument will apply.

Instruments that do not have the required first page information will face a $20 fee, in addition to other recording costs.

The Polk County Clerk's office accepts cash, checks, or money orders. Checks and money orders should be made payable to the Polk County Clerk.

If you have questions about recording or recording fees, contact the Polk County Clerk at (503) 623-9217.
 
Document Formatting Requirements
Real property documents to be recorded may be mailed to the County Clerk in Polk County, Oregon or may be taken to the clerk's office in person. The county clerk's office records documents that affect title to real property located within Polk County. Documents are checked for compliance with Oregon statutes when they are received.

Unrecorded instruments affecting title are void as to subsequent purchasers.

FORMATTING REQUIREMENTS

• The printed paper should be 8.5 x 11 inches or 8.5 x 14 inches.

• The weight of the paper should be 20 # opaque.

• On the first page, a space measuring 4 ¼ x 1 ¾ should be in the upper right
corner or in the lower right corner. This is for the recording label.

• The printed or written text must be 8 point font or larger.

FIRST PAGE REQUIREMENTS

The following information is required to be on the first page. If this is not on the first page, an additional fee of $20 will apply to the document. A cover sheet may be used when presenting the document for recording, which will also result in additional costs.

• The name of the transaction shall be clearly labeled. A document describing two or more transactions between the same parties and involving the same properties may be recorded when the document is labeled with the names of the transactions described therein.

• The names of all parties to be indexed must be listed on the first page.

• The name and address of the person to whom the document will be returned should be given. This only applies to documents being sent through the mail. It should read: “After recording, return to NAME and ADDRESS.”

• The name and address of the person to where tax statements may be sent. This is required on documents conveying or contracting to convey fee title. This statement should read: “Until a change is requested, all tax statements shall be sent to the following address…”

• The true and actual consideration paid. This is required on documents conveying or contracting to convey fee title.

• For County Clerk lien records documents, the lien amount must be shown.

• Make sure that Oregonian notaries have noted the names of individuals signing and being notarized. All notaries need to make sure they are stamping or putting their notary seal on all documents being notarized.

ADDITIONAL CONSIDERATIONS

• If there is a separate statement of consideration on the instrument, it shall be signed separately from the instrument.

• Section 93.40 of the Oregon Statutes in the Property Title includes a mandatory statement for sales agreements, earnest money receipts, or other instruments for conveyance of fee title to real property. The statement shall be included in the body of the instrument. This is also known as a statutory land use warning.

• A legal description of property shall be described for recordation by giving the subdivision, or by lots, blocks, and addition names; or by partition plat recording and parcel numbers; by metes and bounds; or by book and page of previous recorded document.

A warranty deed can be in the following form:

________, Grantor, conveys and warrants to_____, Grantee, the following described real property free of encumbrances except as specifically set forth herein: (Describe the property conveyed.)
(If there are to be exceptions to the covenants described in ORS 93.850 (2)(c), here insert such exceptions.)
(Following statement of exceptions, here insert statement required under ORS 93.040 (1).)
The true consideration for this conveyance is $_____. (Here comply with the requirements of ORS 93.030.)
Dated this _____ day of_____, 2___.


Statutory deed forms are optional. The above form, like others in the Oregon Statues is permissive, but not mandatory. Other forms of deeds may be used for the conveyance of real property.

Oregon is a race notice state, as well as a title theory state. However, Oregon law also permits mortgages to serve as liens upon real property and for judicial foreclosures to occur through the courts.

Instruments that are being re-recorded to make corrections to the original instrument do not need to be acknowledged again. The person presenting the instrument for re-recording shall cause a recording certificate to be affixed to the instrument. This certificate shall contain the words: RECORDED AT THE REQUEST OF…… TO CORRECT……………PREVIOUSLY RECORDED IN BOOK………AND PAGE………, OR AS FEE NUMBER………”
 
 
E-Recording
We may be able to e-record your deed documents in Polk County, Click Here for more information.
 
Supplemental Documents

Consideration