Deeds.com Real Estate Deeds
Deeds.com Account
Sign In

Contra Costa County, California

Recorder Offices


Contra Costa Clerk-Recorder

555 Escobar St / PO Box 350 , Martinez, California 94553

8:00 AM to 4:00 PM Monday through Friday

Phone: (925) 335-7910


Register of Deeds

You are NOT on the Contra Costa County official website, you are on Deeds.com, a private website that is not affiliated with any government agency.

California - Contra Costa County Recorder Information

The County Clerk/Recorder is responsible for recording and maintaining real property records in Contra Costa County.

Recording Fees

First Page: $14; $3 for each additional page.

For the following titles, an additional fee of $3 per title (above the Base $14 fee) will be charged unless recorded concurrently with a transfer subject to the imposition of Transfer Tax: abstract of judgment, affidavit, amended deed of trust, assignment of deed of trust, assignment of lease, assignment of rents, construction deed of trust, covenants, conditions & restrictions (CC&Rs), declaration of homestead, deed of trust, easement, lease, lien, lot line adjustment, mechanic's lien, modification of deed of trust, notice of completion, notice of default, notice of trustee's sale, quitclaim deed, reconveyance, release, request for notice, rescission of notice of default, subordination agreement, substitution of trustee, trustee's deed upon sale, uniform commercial code (UCC) amendment, assignment, continuation, statement, termination (GC 27388, & CCC Res 95-633)

Combined documents: $14 per title.

Non-standard page: $3 per page.

Multiple reference: $1 for each.

Each group of 10 names or functional proportion thereof: $1 after first group of 10 names.

Release of state, city or county liens: $15

Survey Monument Preservation Fund: $10 Applies only to deeds showing other than a complete lot and tract legal description.

Documentary transfer tax of $.55 per $500 may be due, as well as city real property transfer tax.

A missing preliminary change of ownership report triggers a $20 fee.

The Clerk Recorder accepts cash, check, credit, or debit cards as a form of payment. Credit and debit transactions are subject to a service fee of up to $6.

County recording fees are subject to change without notice. For the most current fees and further information, contact the local recorder directly.

On January 1, 2018, California Senate Bill 2, a.k.a., the "Building Homes and Jobs Act," goes into effect and may increase recording fees for real estate instruments. The fee will address homelessness and housing shortages, and help to increase the rate of home ownership within the State by creating a Building Homes and Jobs Trust Fund to which the additional fee will be remitted.

Upon taking effect, the recorder's office will impose a fee of $75.00 to be paid when recording every real estate instrument, paper, or notice required or permitted by law to be recorded, per each single transaction per single parcel of real property, not to exceed $225.00.

Transfers subject to the documentary transfer tax as defined in Section 11911 of the Revenue and Taxation Code or on any real estate instrument, paper, or notice recorded in connection with a transfer of real property that is a residential dwelling to an owner-occupier are exempt from this fee.

If you have any questions about how the Building Homes and Jobs Act affects your recording fees, please speak with a clerk with the Recorder's Office or a licensed attorney within the state.

Document Formatting Requirements

To allow space for the recording label and to avoid extra fees, the top 2.5" of the first page (from the left to the right edges) must be left blank and the documents must have at least a 1.5" margin on each vertical side.

The top left 3" x 5" must show the name of the person requesting the recording and a return name and address. The remaining portion of the space is for the recording label.

For documents that are not 8.5" x 11", each page will be subject to an additional fee of $3. Pages larger than 8.5" x 14" will not be accepted.

The Clerk Recorder offices will not provide document forms and will not assist in the preparation of forms.

In order to meet the legibility requirements, your documents will have to scan properly on the high speed digital scanners used by Contra Costa County.

Do not use highlighter pens or bold type; instead, underline important information.

Use only blue or black ink and a standard font (Times New Roman or Arial) size 9 or larger.

Documents that have been printed on a laser printer will scan better than documents printed on an ink jet printer.

Deeds.com Real Estate Deeds

Nothing on this website should be considered a substitute for the advice of an attorney.

© DEEDS.COM INC. 1997 - 2022 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED | (330) 606-0119 | P.O. Box 5264, Fairlawn, OH 44334