Arkansas Forms

Columbia County Scrivener's Error Affidavit Form

Columbia County Scrivener's Error Affidavit Form

Columbia County Scrivener's Error Affidavit Form

Fill in the blank Scrivener's Error Affidavit form formatted to comply with all Arkansas recording and content requirements.

Document Last Validated 4/18/2025
Columbia County Scrivener's Error Affidavit Guide

Columbia County Scrivener's Error Affidavit Guide

Line by line guide explaining every blank on the Scrivener's Error Affidavit form.

Document Last Validated 6/9/2025
Columbia County Completed Example of the Scrivener's Error Affidavit Document

Columbia County Completed Example of the Scrivener's Error Affidavit Document

Example of a properly completed Arkansas Scrivener's Error Affidavit document for reference.

Document Last Validated 3/13/2025

All 3 documents above included • One-time purchase • No recurring fees

Immediate Download • Secure Checkout

Important: Your property must be located in Columbia County to use these forms. Documents should be recorded at the office below.

Where to Record Your Documents

Circuit Clerk & Recorder
Address:
One Court Square, Suite 3
Magnolia, Arkansas 71753

Hours: 8:00am to 4:30pm M-F

Phone: (870) 235-3700

Recording Tips for Columbia County:
  • Ensure all signatures are in blue or black ink
  • Bring your driver's license or state-issued photo ID
  • Double-check legal descriptions match your existing deed

Cities and Jurisdictions in Columbia County

Properties in any of these areas use Columbia County forms:

  • Emerson
  • Magnolia
  • Mc Neil
  • Taylor
  • Waldo

View Complete Recorder Office Guide

Hours, fees, requirements, and more for Columbia County

How do I get my forms?

Forms are available for immediate download after payment. The Columbia County forms will be in your account ready to download to your computer. An account is created for you during checkout if you don't have one. Forms are NOT emailed.

Are these forms guaranteed to be recordable in Columbia County?

Yes. Our form blanks are guaranteed to meet or exceed all formatting requirements set forth by Columbia County including margin requirements, content requirements, font and font size requirements.

Can I reuse these forms?

Yes. You can reuse the forms for your personal use. For example, if you have multiple properties in Columbia County you only need to order once.

What do I need to use these forms?

The forms are PDFs that you fill out on your computer. You'll need Adobe Reader (free software that most computers already have). You do NOT enter your property information online - you download the blank forms and complete them privately on your own computer.

Are there any recurring fees?

No. This is a one-time purchase. Nothing to cancel, no memberships, no recurring fees.

How much does it cost to record in Columbia County?

Recording fees in Columbia County vary. Contact the recorder's office at (870) 235-3700 for current fees.

Questions answered? Let's get started!

Scrivener's Error Affidavits in Arkansas

What happens when an important document like a deed or a mortgage has been recorded, and an error is spotted after the fact? What can you do to fix it? One option may be filing a corrective scrivener's affidavit.

A scrivener's affidavit is an instrument containing sworn statements by the affiant, or person making the affidavit, that sets forth the intent of the original document by correcting a non-material error in a document which has been recorded at an earlier date. The Arkansas statutes specifically state that scrivener's affidavits may be used to correct the following: the identification, marital status, heirship, relation, death, or the time of death of a person; the identification of a corporation or other legal entity;or the legal description to real property (A.C.A. 18-12-108).

Major, or material, changes to the substance of the document have a legal effect in how property is titled, and therefore require a new deed. Adding or removing a grantee, for example, or making significant modifications to the legal description, may require a new document. When in doubt about the gravity of an error and the appropriate vehicle to address it, consult with a lawyer.

In order to be valid, the affidavit must include the name of the person or entity that completed or prepared the original instrument, and the names of all parties to the original instrument (A.C.A. 18-12-108). If the person's name has changed in the time since the erroneous document was recorded, a new document is typically required. The affidavit must also include the recording information from the original instrument. And of course, the affidavit states a brief description of each error and the correction itself (A.C.A. 18-12-108).

Because a scrivener's affidavit is correcting another document where the transfer tax has already been paid, it is exempt from said transfer tax pursuant to A.C.A. 26-60-102(3). Contact a lawyer with questions if no tax was paid on the recorded document.

The affidavit must be executed and recorded by one of the individuals listed in A.C.A. 18-12-108 who were party to the original document. The affiant must sign the document in order for the correction to be valid (A.C.A. 18-12-108). It must also meet all state and local standards for recorded documents. Submit the completed affidavit at the circuit clerk's office in the county where the real property is located (A.C.A. 18-12-108).

This article is provided for informational purposes only and is not a substitute for legal advice. Contact an attorney with questions about scrivener's affidavits, or for any other issues related to real property in Arkansas.

(Arkansas Correction Deed Package includes form, guidelines, and completed example)

Important: Your property must be located in Columbia County to use these forms. Documents should be recorded at the office below.

This Scrivener's Error Affidavit meets all recording requirements specific to Columbia County.

Our Promise

The documents you receive here will meet, or exceed, the Columbia County recording requirements for formatting. If there's an issue caused by our formatting, we'll make it right and refund your payment.

Save Time and Money

Get your Columbia County Scrivener's Error Affidavit form done right the first time with Deeds.com Uniform Conveyancing Blanks. At Deeds.com, we understand that your time and money are valuable resources, and we don't want you to face a penalty fee or rejection imposed by a county recorder for submitting nonstandard documents. We constantly review and update our forms to meet rapidly changing state and county recording requirements for roughly 3,500 counties and local jurisdictions.

4.8 out of 5 - ( 4581 Reviews )

irene a.

February 8th, 2019

good forms thanks, irene

Reply from Staff

Thank you Irene.

Anthony P.

December 7th, 2021

Documents exactly as described, no complaints.

Reply from Staff

Thank you!

Jane B.

December 20th, 2020

Easy to use,thanks

Reply from Staff

Thank you!

Lucinda L.

December 29th, 2021

mostly good; however, you need to update the annual exclusion gift amount from $14,000 to $15,000 (where it has ben for several years), and you need to make your Gift Deed final paragraph be gender neutral like "they" or "he or she" rather than just"he". We women lawyers and our women clients appreciate that.

Reply from Staff

Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it. Have a great day!

Donna B.

January 10th, 2019

Really liked the quick access to documents. Great service, thanks.

Reply from Staff

Thank you Donna, we appreciate you taken the time to leave your feedback. Have a great day!

Jeanne V.

December 20th, 2021

The service your provide is awesome. I rarely need to file a deed through e-recording, but when an emergency arose and I needed to get the deed recorded fast, your program came through. Well worth the $19.00 cost! It was very convienent and easy to use. I will definitely use this service again!!

Reply from Staff

Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it. Have a great day!

Maria C.

June 3rd, 2022

Amazing service truly great to work with your team on a difficult filing!

Reply from Staff

Thank you!

Brenn C.

April 11th, 2022

These products would be more useful if they final deed could be copied and pasted into a word document for proper formatting. Because most of the document is protected against selecting and copying, I did not find it useful. I would not purchase again.

Reply from Staff

Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it. Have a great day!

Tracey P.

December 24th, 2021

As always, amazing forms and information. A must have for anyone doing it themselves. Everything is available to make it happen but if you need a lot of hand holding you might want to look into a more full service option.

Reply from Staff

Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it. Have a great day!

Maurice B.

April 18th, 2019

The program fields should allow the customer to change font size and allow additional space for information to be place on the Deed. Not Bad, still needs improvement.

Reply from Staff

Thank you for your feedback Maurice. Unfortunately we do not make the requirements for things like font size and margins, we only make the documents to be compliant with them.

ALFRED B.

September 2nd, 2020

I was counting on deeds.com to help me with a closing I was working on. I stumbled with the instructions but when I recovered there were no problems. The instructions were helpful and the deeds etc. were just what I needed. I give deeds five stars. I am 76 years old and when the application asks for the user's name I always think they want my name. WRONG. I am trying to learn computer speak.

Reply from Staff

Thank you Alfred, have an amazing day!

Richard B.

May 27th, 2022

Had trouble filling in the forms not very user friendly. The text always had to be manipulated to look in the best place. Could not easily move existing text to look more professional with the text being inserted.

Reply from Staff

Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it. Have a great day!

Peter V.

November 1st, 2021

Great set of forms. Downloaded in a min and Used immediately. Good sample as it easy to read And fill out yours. Overall good experience

Reply from Staff

We appreciate your business and value your feedback. Thank you. Have a wonderful day!

Sarah K.

October 22nd, 2019

I was annoyed when I realized I couldn't put the document into Word or WordPerfect. I had to retype the entire document. What a waste of time and money.

Reply from Staff

Sorry to hear of your annoyance. We have canceled your order and payment. We do hope that you find something more suitable to your needs elsewhere. Have a wonderful day.

Martha R.

March 16th, 2023

Provided all the info that I needed.

Reply from Staff

We appreciate your business and value your feedback. Thank you. Have a wonderful day!