You are NOT on the Piscataquis County official website, you are on Deeds.com, a private website that is not affiliated with any government agency.
The Registry of Deeds is responsible for recording and maintaining real property records in Piscataquis County.
The fee to record a deed in Maine is $22 for the first page. Each additional page is $2.
Each name to be indexed after the first four is $1.
If an extra page is needed to provide space for recording information, $2 will be added.
Each instrument to be referenced after the first is $13.
When documents are mailed in, provide a self-addressed stamped envelope.
* A certificate of acknowledgment or proof of execution must be endorsed on or included in the deed in order for it to be recorded.
* Submit documents on white 8.5 x 11 inch paper without watermarks or visible inclusions.
* 1.5" top margin on the first page, 1.5" bottom margin last page, 1" top margin all other pages, .75" side margins for all pages.
* The grantee's mailing address, including municipality and state should be provided on the first page.
* The marital status of grantors should be indicated on the face of the document.
* Corresponding names should be written or typed beneath signatures.
* An exception, reservation, or recital in a deed or other conveyance shall not constitute actual notice unless it contains a reference to the volume and page of the registry or probate court record or other instrument which evidences such other conveyance or an adequate legal description by metes and bounds.
* A legal description of the real property by metes and bounds or a reference to a previously recorded instrument should be provided on the first page.
* When documents are mailed in, provide a self-addressed stamped envelope.
* Unless the transaction is exempt, the seller of residential real property shall provide to the purchaser a property disclosure statement containing the following information: water supply system, insulation, heating system or heating source, waste disposal system, hazardous materials, and known defects. For more specific guidelines on the property disclosure statement, interested parties are directed to the Maine Revised Statutes, Title 33, Chapter 7.
A Maine Transfer Tax Declaration form should be filed with most deeds. These forms are available at no cost through the Registry of Deeds or online at the Maine Revenue Services. A tax map and lot number is required for the Transfer Tax Declaration. This information can be obtained by calling the town office where the land is located. Unorganized township information is available at the Maine Revenue Services.
This form should be submitted in duplicate and signed by the parties to the transaction.