My Account Deeds.com Real Estate Deeds

Charleston County, South Carolina

Recorder Offices


Charleston County Register

O.T. Wallace County Office Building - 101 Meeting St, Rm 200 / PO Box 726, Charleston, South Carolina 29401 / 29402

8:30am to 5:00pm Monday through Friday / Recording until 4:30pm

Phone: (843) 958-4800


Register of Deeds

You are NOT on the Charleston County official website, you are on Deeds.com, a private website that is not affiliated with any government agency.

South Carolina - Charleston County Recorder Information

The Register Mesne Conveyances (RMC) records land titles, deeds, and many other real property documents in Charleston County. Documents must comply with federal and state recording statutes. Once recorded, documents are available for public review.

Recording Fees

Deed: $15 + deed tax (see below)
Agreement, Amendment, some Assignments, Contract, Declaration, Dissolution, Easement, Lease, Mortgage, Restrictive Covenant, UCC Document, Waiver: $25
Affidavit, Article, some Assignments, Mechanics Lien, Release: $10
Please check the county website for a more detailed list.

Unless the document is exempt, both state and county taxes are due upon recording. State documentary stamps are $1.30 per $500, and county documentary stamps are $0.55 per $500, rounding up the per $500 to the nearest whole number. Consult the deed stamps table under supplemental forms for specific amounts.

Contact the RMC directly for questions about recording fees or documentary stamps.

Document Formatting Requirements

* Documents should be on 8.5 x 11 inch white paper or 8.5 x 14 inch white paper. Use black or dark blue ink for documents in a font size of at least 12 point. Do not use highlighting.

* At the top and bottom of document pages, provide a 1.5 inch margin for the recording stamp.

* Deeds require two witnesses. A South Carolina Probate or acknowledgment is required.

* Corresponding names must be typed underneath signatures to allow for proper indexing. Names will be indexed as they appear underneath signatures.

* For security purposes, do not include personal identification numbers or account numbers on documents.

* Present documents in the order they are to be recorded.

* The grantor must sign the document and the name and address of the grantee must be provided.

* Provide a legal description of the real property. This can include a plat book and page or a metes and bounds description. Additionally, provide a parcel identification number for the property (this may also be referred to as a Tax Map Sequence Number).

* All deeds conveying an interest in land and all mortgages of real estate executed after July 1, 1976, must include a derivation clause in the property description. A derivation clause should appear on the deed and includes the following: "Being the same property conveyed to __________________ by deed of ________________ dated __________ and recorded ____________ in the RMC Office for Charleston County in Book _______ and Page _______."
However, when the deed of derivation has been simultaneously executed and delivered and has not then been recorded it is sufficient to set forth in the deed the name of the grantor of the deed of derivation, the date, and that it is to be recorded. When the grantor's title was obtained by inheritance or devise, the derivation clause must include the name of the person from whom the title was acquired, the approximate date of acquisition, and, in the case of property acquired under a probated will or administered estate, the probate court in which such estate was filed. Do not leave any blanks in the derivation clause. A derivation clause is not needed for property devoted to a utility or railroad purpose of any private or public utility or railroad, a quit claim deed, or a non-warranty deed of real property.

* Before any deed of conveyance of real property, including timber deeds, leases, and conveyances of timber, can be recorded, it must have an endorsement by the county auditor.


AFFIDAVIT

An affidavit showing the value of the realty also needs to be filed when submitting a deed for recordation. If the deed is exempt, the value is not required to be stated on the affidavit, but the reason for exemption must be stated on the affidavit.

The affidavit must be signed by a responsible person connected with the transaction, and the connection must be stated. The register of deeds may waive the affidavit requirement at his discretion.

The total consideration paid should be indicated on the face of the deed. If the amount paid is not indicated, or has the words "in other consideration" or if a trade of property is involved, an Affidavit of True Consideration must be attached in order to reflect the actual value of the transaction.

A quit claim deed is subject to documentary stamps if there is a consideration paid. An affidavit of exempt transfers is required.

A sample affidavit is available on the Charleston County RMC website. An affidavit for exempt transfers is also available for viewing.