You are NOT on the Jersey County official website, you are on Deeds.com, a private website that is not affiliated with any government agency.
The County Clerk and Recorder is responsible for maintaining records for real property located in Jersey County.
The minimum fee to record most documents (size 8.5x11 inches) up to four pages is $62 for first four pages with $1 each add'l page.
The minimum fee for non-standard docs is $72 for first four pages with $1 each add'l page.
A release referred to by document number without a legal description is $1 per document number.
Certified Copies of all Documents(Excluding Military Records)$10.00
Uncertified Photo Copies $2.00
Uncertified Photo Copies of Plats $5.00
County recording fees are often subject to change, so contact the local recorder to verify this information.
• A document should consist of one or more individual sheets measuring 8.5x11 inches, not permanently bound and not in a continuous form. Graphic displays accompanying a document to be recorded that measure up to 11x17 inches shall be recorded without additional fees.
• The document should be legibly printed in black ink, written, or computer generated on white paper of at least 20# weight. The font should be at least 12 point. Signatures and dates may be in contrasting colors if they will reproduce clearly. Corresponding names should be printed or typed beneath signatures.
• Provide clean margins of at least ½ an inch on the top, bottom, and both sides. Margins may be used for non-essential notations that will not affect the validity of the document, including but not limited to form numbers, page numbers, and customer notations.
• Provide a blank space of 3.5 x 5 inches in the upper right corner of the first page. This space is reserved for the Recorder.
• Deeds require a “Prepared By” statement. This should be on the first page and should list the name and address of the person who prepared the instrument.
• The grantor must sign the document and must have his/her signature acknowledged.
• Provide the name and address to where subsequent tax bills are to be sent.
• The grantee’s name and address is to be listed on the first page.
• A legal description sufficient enough to identify the land being conveyed must be present on the deed, and include the street address and PIN. If a metes and bounds description is used, it shall contain the section, township, and range with an identifiable point of beginning. The legal description should be on the face of the deed, or included as an attachment.
• An affidavit for purposes of the plat act is required to accompany a deed when 1) a metes and bounds legal description is given in the transfer of property, 2) when roadway easements and right of way (ingress or egress) are designated, or 3) when a division of land five acres more or less is noted on a deed of transfer.
• A parcel ID number is required, but this is not sufficient as a legal description.
• If a deed has an attached rider, the rider should be permanently attached as an additional page on the back of the deed.
Transfer Tax Declaration:
An Illinois Real Estate Transfer Declaration (PTAX-203) must be filed with deeds and any non-exempt transactions. The information requested on this form is requested by the Illinois Real Estate Transfer Tax law. All parties involved in the transaction must complete the form truthfully. This form is used to collect sales data and to determine if a sale can be used in assessment ratio studies. It is also used to compute equalization factors, which are used to help achieve a statewide uniform valuation of properties based on their fair market value.
If the property transfer is exempt from transfer tax, the PTAX-203 form is not required. A specific exemption number should be noted on the deed presented for recording. The Illinois Department of Revenue webpage has a list of exempt transactions. The form can be completed online or as a hard copy.
Effect of Recording:
Deeds, mortgages, and other instruments of writing that are authorized to be recorded will take effect and be in force from and after the time they are filed for record as to all creditors and subsequent purchasers, without notice. All such deeds and title papers will be judged void as to all such creditors and subsequent purchasers, without notice, until the same is filed for record.
From the time they are filed for record, deeds, mortgages, and other instruments of writing related to real estate shall be deemed notice to subsequent purchasers and creditors, though not acknowledged or proven according to law; but the same shall not be read as evidence, unless their execution be proved in the manner required by the rules of evidence applicable to such writings, so as to supply the defects of acknowledgment or proof.