Home > Recorder Information > Massachusetts > Plymouth County  

Recorder Office Locations

Plymouth - Main Office with Land Court
50 Obery St, Plymouth, Massachusetts 02360
8:15 to 4:30 M-F / Recording until 4:00
Phone: (508) 830-9200
Plymouth - Main Office with Land Court 50 Obery St, Plymouth, Massachusetts, 02360

Brockton Satellite Office
155 West Elm St, Brockton, Massachusetts 02301
8:30 to 12:00 & 12:45 to 4:15 M-F / Recording until 4:00
Phone: (508) 830-9200
Brockton Satellite Office 155 West Elm St, Brockton, Massachusetts, 02301

Rockland Satellite Office
900 Hingham St, Rockland, Massachusetts 02370
8:30 to 12:00 & 12:45 to 4:15 M-F / Recording until 4:00
Phone: (508) 830-9200
Rockland Satellite Office 900 Hingham St, Rockland, Massachusetts, 02370 is providing this information as a courtesy to our visitors. You are NOT on the Plymouth County official website, you are on, a private website that is not affiliated with any government agency.
Plymouth County Massachusetts Register of Deeds

Plymouth County Recorder Information

The Registry of Deeds is responsible for recording and maintaining real property records in Plymouth County.

Registered land must be recorded at the main office in Plymouth. Unregistered land can be recorded at all three locations.

Recording Fees

The fee to record a deed, easement, or foreclosure deed with affidavit is $125.

The fee to record a mortgage is $175. A discharge of mortgage is $75.

A declaration of trust is $225. A declaration of homestead is $35.

For recording a decree in land court, call the department.

Postage and handling fee for all unregistered land is $2 per instrument, and for all registered land and electronic recordings it is $1.

Deeds Excise Tax:
An Excise Tax of $4.56 for each $1,000.00 consideration stated on a deed or easement must be paid at the time of recording. For example, a deed of real estate for $150,000 requires excise tax in the amount of $684.00 along with the recording fee. There is no excise tax due where the consideration stated is $100.00 or less.

Community Preservation Act:
There is a surcharge fee on all documents recorded under Chapter 44B, Section 8, with the exception of Declaration of Homesteads. See Legislation Acts of 2000, Chapter 267, which amended Chapter 262, Sections 38 and 39. This legislation passed on December 13, 2000. This Surcharge is included in the Fees listed above.

Multifunctional Documents:
“A document that accomplishes more than one function shall be treated as a multiple document. A separate recording fee will be charged and index entry made for each separate function accomplished by the document.”
Document Formatting Requirements
• Documents must be on white paper of sufficient weight to reproduce in registry scanners. The print or type must be sufficiently dark and adequately sized (10 point font) to reproduce legibly.

• Paper should not be larger than 8.5x14 inches or smaller than 8.5x11 inches. This includes attachments.

• Printing should be single-sided only.

• The first page of all documents must contain a ‘recording information area.’ This should be a 3x3 inch area in the upper right-hand corner that is free from all writing.

• Other margins should be at least 1 inch.

• All documents should contain, on the first line of print on the first page, a title that identifies the recordable event that the instrument represents.

• All deeds, with or without covenants, must be acknowledged.

• A deed that conveys title to two individuals as tenants by the entirety may be recorded even when there is no mention of husband and wife or married to each other or similar language.

• Documents should not contain full social security numbers. Documents with this information will be rejected.

• The address (street number, street name, town and condominium unit number if applicable) of the property on a deed, mortgage, or a discharge of mortgage shall be typed or printed clearly in a prominent location on the first page of the document.

• The mailing address of the grantee on a deed must be clearly stated in the document.

• The acknowledgment of a deed or other written instrument required to be acknowledged shall be by one or more of the parties signing the document.

• The Registry of Deeds will not record photocopies unless they are certified copies.

• On a deed or mortgage, only the names of the grantors who have signed the instrument will be indexed.

• A document that accomplishes more than one function shall be treated and charged as multiple documents.

• Massachusetts imposes an excise tax upon the transfer of any deed, instrument, or other writing whereby realty is conveyed to a purchaser. This is based on the consideration given for the property and applies, whenever the consideration, exclusive of the value of any lien or encumbrance remaining on the property, is greater than $100. The tax is paid by the person making or signing the deed and is evidenced by a stamp affixed to it. The amount of consideration must be listed on the deed.

• Names shall be stamped, typed, or printed beneath all signatures.
Plymouth County Forum Topics
Topic Title Started By Comments

removal of name of deadbeat child from deed pp 2

please explain what the deed actually means. tripp 0

We may be able to e-record your deed documents in Plymouth County, Click Here for more information.