You are NOT on the Rutherford County official website, you are on Deeds.com, a private website that is not affiliated with any government agency.
To record a real property document in Rutherford County, Tennessee the property must be located in that county. Documents are recorded at the Register of Deeds office.
A warranty deed, quitclaim deed, and deed of trust is $5 per page to record. There is a $10 minimum charge. A $2 computer fund also applies to the transaction. All taxable instruments are charged an additional $1.
Realty transfer tax rate: $3.70 per $1000 of value or consideration. This is collected on all conveyance documents, unless an exemption is claimed.
The mortgage tax is $1.15 per $1,000. The first $2,000 is exempt.
Make checks payable to the Register of Deeds.
Contact the county's Register of Deeds directly for more information on recording fees and payment methods.
* Documents must be originals and dated in order to be recorded with the Register of Deeds.
* The name and address of the property owner is required, as well as the name and address of the person responsible for property taxes.
* The name and address of the preparer of the instrument is required to be listed.
* At the end of the legal description of the real property, include the name, license number, and address of the surveyor who prepared the boundary survey from which the description was prepared.
* A complete notary acknowledgment is needed for documents of conveyance (this is optional for leases, bylaws, and contracts). This should include the date it was notarized and the date the notary commission expires.
* A derivation clause is required, as well as an oath of consideration.
* The owner of residential real property shall furnish one of the following to the purchaser: a residential property disclosure statement or a residential property disclaimer. These statements can be accessed through the Tennessee revised statutes, under title 66, chapter 5, part 210.
* Submit documents on 8.5x11 inch white paper, or 8.5 x 14 inch white paper.
* The first page should have a 3 inch top margin and a 3 inch bottom margin. These are to be left blank for the Register of Deeds. All other margins should be a minimum of 1 inch.
* The document should be in black ink, with a minimum font size of 10 point.
A Quitclaim Deed needs the following: New owner name and address; tax bill name and address; map and parcel number; grantor and grantee names; language that conveys interest only (quitclaim deeds do not warrant title); property description and current derivation clause; and an oath of consideration. This may be listed as zero or it can have actual consideration.
All mortgage documents, as well as an installment deed, must contain the following statement: "Maximum Principal Indebtedness for Tennessee Recording Tax Purpose is $____________."
For a deed in fee with general warranty: "I hereby convey to A. B. the following tract of land (describing it), and I warrant the title against all persons whomsoever."